Staggered mid-turn and action economy


Rules Questions


So our Paladin struck a foe with his sword (standard) and then lept some other foes at low hp (move). During the leap, he was zeroed into staggered by an AoO.

Question: does the staggered action limitation start when the character is staggered or does it count earlier round actions?

Case 1: Paladin spends standard. Paladin attempts move. Move triggers AoO. Paladin is staggered. Staggered action restriction not filled. Paladin moves and doesn't go to -1hp.

Case 2: Paladin spends standard. Paladin attempts move. Move triggers AoO. Paladin is staggered. Staggered action restriction filled. Paladin moves and does go to -1hp.

Grand Lodge

The restriction on and consequences for actions start when the paladin begins to be staggered. He can't continue his move as he's used all his allowed actions for the round (so he must stop moving at the closest legal space to where he was hit) but doesn't lose a hit point.


Did you mean disabled or staggered?
I assume that he was Disabled, not Staggered based on the hit point reference.
Because he became disabled after taking his standard and while taking his move he does not loose the hit point.

Disabled wrote:

Taking move actions doesn't risk further injury, but performing a standard action (or any other action the GM deems strenuous...) deals 1 point of damage after completing the act.


Disabled is the correct term.

Heh, woops, looks like both options are a bit off. So I wouldn't fall to unconscious at all, but also couldn't finish the move?

Or I guess DM adjudicate that the move was a "strenuous action", let me finish and then go to -1? Not RAW.


Disabled also makes you move at half speed. Personally, I'd rule that because you already took the move action before you were disabled, you could finish the move, but becoming disabled would reduce your speed to half.

So, normal movement is 30' for PCs. If you had moved 15' or more before you were disabled, you would immediately be out of movement and not able to move further. If you had moved less than that, you could continue your move up to the 15'. Future turns follow the regular disabled rules.


+1 to Tarantula


If you didn't mind the extra math, you could just halve the remaining speed. So if the Paladin moved 15' out of 30', then the remaining 15' would be halved to 7.5', rounded to 5' perhaps.


Either way the paladin is not dropped to -1. Opening up the possibility of a Lay on Hands swift action.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Staggered mid-turn and action economy All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions