
![]() |
Is the reward for this scenario (choose two players to use the Adv Deck 1 loot cards) granted only to the specific character you beat the scenario with, or is it an ability granted to the player, similar to the Adv. 1 reward of being able to play Jirelle?
I initially assumed the former, but I've just noticed that whereas all the character rewards mention the character directly ("Each character gains X"), this one does not, and only references players ("For the rest of the Adventure Path, when setting up the scenario, you may choose 1 player to replace 1 item in her deck with...")

pluvia33 |

"For the rest of the Adventure Path, when setting up each scenario, you may choose 1 player to replace 1 item in her deck with the loot Besmara’s Tricorne and another player to replace 1 weapon with the loot Vindictive Harpoon +1. Return both cards to the box at the end of each scenario."
I think the "for the rest of the Adventure Path" part of the reward is key here. You are not meant to have access to this reward until you have gotten to this part of the Adventure Path, so it only applies to the character that completed the scenario. However, the interesting part is how the loot division works. As it is written right now, only one character in the party needs to have beating this scenario for the whole party to get the benefit. So since my Cleric Tarlin has finished this scenario, but neither of the loot cards are that important for him, he can play a scenario with four complete newbies and offer these loot cards up for two of them to replace some of their less useful starting cards.
The question kind of is, is this intended? The Adventure 2 card, "A Pirate's Life", also has a Loot card reward, but it is worded very differently:
"For the rest of the Adventure Path, when setting up each scenario, you may choose 1 loot card with adventure deck number 2 to replace 1 card of the same type in your deck. If two players choose the same loot card, they should each roll 1d12; the player with the highest result may use the card. Return all loot cards to the same box at the end of each scenario."
This reward makes it very clear that just you, as in your character, gets to choose a loot card. You don't get to offer the card to others. There is also a solution for when two characters want the same loot card which isn't in the Jemma reward. Should the reward for 1F be worded more like the reward for Adventure 2? I don't know, but although it's pretty different, I think it's fine as it is.

mlvanbie |

This scenario clarifies what happens to the Loot card after you are done playing the scenario, but not what happens with the card that was displaced from your deck. I assume it is in some sort of limbo and that it returns to your deck before you handle rewards. Someone else might assume that it goes into the box when displaced and at the end of the scenario you will replace it with a Basic card.
Maybe Loot rules could be in the OP guide?

![]() |

It says you replace it with the Loot. I see no reason the original card would go anywhere but back to the box. It's in your deck, or it isn't. The game doesn't use "limbo" zones. A card is used or not. Not sure why you would automatically assume you do something the game has never set a precedent for doing.

![]() |

Yes, we can only assume, but why go straight to something with no precedent when there is a much more obvious answer that makes sense? It isn't in your deck. Where else will it be? Back in the box and out of your deck? Could be, we know cards don't stay in our deck forever. Limbo-land? This has never existed before, so I'm going to go with the answer that makes sense and does something we frequently do anyways -- lose a card from our deck.

![]() |

When I read about the reward here, I had assumed that it was a temporary thing since you weren't permanently replacing the card in your deck ... just sort of setting it aside to use the tricorne and/or harpoon. And while I know that decks don't have memories when it comes to banishing, I hadn't thought of this in the same manner.
Vic, is there a general OP FAQ yet? Wouldn't this be a good place to start one since Loot is handled in a different manner and doesn't actually become a permanent resident in your deck.

Shade325 |

While I understand temporary I'm going to throw out another suggestion. What if you bury the replaced card. Then its still in your deck at the end of the scenario for rebuilding but essentially out of play.
"For the rest of the Adventure Path, when setting up each scenario, you may choose players to add the loot Besmara’s Tricorne and Vindictive Harpoon +1 to their decks. To add these loot cards to a player's deck that player must bury a card of the same type from her deck. Return both loot cards to the box at the end of each scenario"
Just an idea. I don't remember a mechanic that allows you to recover a buried card but its a big game... maybe its out there.