Swordmaster's Flair + Buckler


Rules Questions


Two quick questions:

1) Swordmaster's Flair:

Spoiler:
Quote:
"So long as a token is grasped in the user's off hand, she can spend 1 panache point to gain the use of a specific ability associated with the token."

Does the token need to be grasped for the entire duration of the ability's use (e.g. the whole minute for the Blue Scarf) or only as long as necessary to activate the ability (e.g. a swift action for the Blue Scarf)?

2) Buckler:

Spoiler:
Quote:
"In any case, if you use a weapon in your off hand, you lose the buckler's Armor Class bonus until your next turn. You can cast a spell with somatic components using your shield arm, but you lose the buckler's Armor Class bonus until your next turn."

The rules as written say that the shield bonus to AC is lost when using a weapon or casting a spell, but would you say that you lose the bonus when activating a Swordmaster's Flair (i.e. losing the AC bonus for that round as if using a weapon) or holding a Swordmaster's Flair (i.e. losing the AC bonus for a minute if you need to hold it for the whole duration)?

Thanks!


swordmater's flair is a pice of cloth.

you can hold things in your buckler hand and still benefit from it's ac, p.e. holding a potion in the hand. that doesn't change for the swordmaster's flair. you can use your buckler normally and still hold the falir and use both.

the only time where buckler isn't protecting you is when you move your hand to atack, cast a spell, or generally stop using it activly to parry hits, which activating a swift action items surely doesn't.


Yeah, I guess this is sort of a RAW vs. RAI issue, and I'm wondering if people have more opinions on the matter.


raw: are you using a weapon? No. Are you casting a spell with a somatic component? No.

so raw: you keep the ac

rai: do you stop using your buckler hand because you are holding a piece of cloth? No

so rai: you keep the ac

Liberty's Edge

shroudb has the right of it, the assorted Swordsmaster's Flair items are just decoration and should not interfere with anything.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Swordmaster's Flair + Buckler All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.