Can the "bombchucker" item be enchanted


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

So, in the recent "Monster codex", they added an item called the bombchucker, which allows you to increase the range increment of the bomb. However, I'm unsure if it's considered a weapon and can be enchanted.

Note: the item isnt on the d20pfsrd yet, so here's the description:
Bombchucker:
This curved wicker basket is worn like a glove over one hand. The basket extends approximately 2 feet in a steady curve, allowing you to launch a thrown splash weapon at incredible speeds and over long distances. Using a bombchucker increases the range increment of any thrown splash weapon by 10 feet. Loading a bombchucker requires a free hand, as the hand wielding the bombchucker can’t be used for any other purpose. A bombchucker doesn’t get in the way of preparing and throwing a bomb created with the bomb class feature.


I doubt it's a weapon - it doesn't do any damage, doesn't have any range increments (of its own) nor a critical range.

Dark Archive

I don't know much about the Bombchucker but I'd go with the Flask Launcher from Gnomes of Golorian. Does literally the same thing you just described only it's not as questionable about whether it's a weapon or not since it's listed under the Exotic Weapons section.


That Crazy Alchemist wrote:
I don't know much about the Bombchucker but I'd go with the Flask Launcher from Gnomes of Golorian. Does literally the same thing you just described only it's not as questionable about whether it's a weapon or not since it's listed under the Exotic Weapons section.

Flask launcher is in an "exotic weapons" spot, which makes it less interesting. Nonetheless, I just want to be clear on what the bombchucker is...

Grand Lodge

Sounds like a sling type item.

Slings are weapons.


Ok, so arguments for/against it's a weapon:

Against:
-No range increment
-No weapon damage dice (note: the flask thrower doesnt have this either)

For
-?


For: it launches projectiles, which is pretty much what (cross-)bows and slings do too.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can the "bombchucker" item be enchanted All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions