| ColonelMidas |
So I have a cleric of Gorum that is looking at the Holy Vindicator PrC (Better BAB, Better HD, Better Armor Proficiency, etc). But, being a greatsword wielder, he can't really use the Vindicator's Shield ability, which is one of the coolest things they get IMO. However, I was reading the ability and noticed something.
A vindicator can channel energy into his shield as a standard action; when worn, the shield gives the vindicator a sacred bonus (if positive energy) or profane bonus (if negative energy) to his Armor Class equal to the number of dice of the vindicator’s channel energy. This bonus lasts for 24 hours or until the vindicator is struck in combat, whichever comes first. The shield does not provide this bonus to any other wielder, but the vindicator does not need to be holding the shield for it to retain this power.
Nowhere in the ability does it state that it adds the bonus to your shield bonus, or that you even need a shield bonus at all. You just need to be wearing a shield. If my cleric straps a buckler on he's wearing a shield, and can thus benefit from the ability, and can still wield the greatsword, albeit with a -1 to attacks.
Am I correct in this reading or is it just wishful thinking?
| Darksol the Painbringer |
Look at the ability wording closely; it says that it applies that bonus when worn, not holding or carrying. If it's not worn, the bonus isn't being applied to your AC. The final sentence says that even if you don't have it on your person, it still retains that power. In other words, if it's disarmed from you or you decide to unequip it, once you get in possession of it and wear it again, its bonuses reapply.
You are correct though, in that a Buckler is a shield and counts for this ability, as well as effects that ignore Shield Bonuses don't ignore the bonus this ability provides; i.e. Touch Attacks.
Also take note that it specifically calls out mechanics from the Channel Energy class feature, meaning you have to expend Channel Energy uses to power the ability. This makes the Extra Channel feat much more valuable, and that this ability overrides the mechanics one would try to use Quick Channel for.
Of course, a better question would be if a Disarm counts as being struck in combat; RAI, I'd think not, but you're still making an attack against the target's number, so it can go either way.
| ColonelMidas |
The author of the Holy Vindicator specified that the intent is it expends a use of your channel in this thread. I'm not sure if that's the official ruling too or just the intent.
Darksol, The ability does indeed say when worn, and I am wearing the buckler the entire time, just because I'm not using it defensively doesn't change the fact that it's strapped to my arm and is being worn. At any moment I could choose to hold the greatsword in just one hand (thus no longer wielding it or threatening squares with it) and gain the +1 shield bonus. The shield is being worn, so I would think that it gives the bonus.
I think being disarmed would cancel it out; I believe combat maneuvers are considered a type of attack.
Official ruling would be appreciated in all of these questions!