Does Ghost Touch (Weapon Special Ability) grant Incorporeal Touch Attacks?


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Hi,the question's in the title. Here's the text for Ghost Touch (Weapon Special Ability).

"A ghost touch weapon deals damage normally against incorporeal creatures, regardless of its bonus. An incorporeal creature's 50% reduction in damage from corporeal sources does not apply to attacks made against it with ghost touch weapons. The weapon can be picked up and moved by an incorporeal creature at any time. A manifesting ghost can wield the weapon against corporeal foes. Essentially, a ghost touch weapon counts as both corporeal or incorporeal."

Now it doesn't say "Essentially, a ghost touch weapon counts as both corporeal or incorporeal for the purposes of attacking incorporeal creatures", so can I assume this means it counts as incorporeal for the purpose of attacking normal creatures also, granting it the ability to make touch attacks, as per normal incorporeal attacks?

Liberty's Edge RPG Superstar 2013 Top 16

No. It counts as incorporeal only insofar as it can be used by, and against, incorporeal creatures. It doesn't say that it grants the ability to make touch attacks.

Compare the brilliant energy property. That allows you to make attacks that ignore armor--not quite as good as actual touch attacks--and it's far more expensive.


No. It's a corporeal weapon, so armor bonuses, etc. still apply.


The Essentially sentence is clarifying that a manifesting ghost is able to use the weapon in the same way a ghost can use an incorporeal weapon. It does not mean that the weapon itself is incorporeal. The weapon is still corporeal and follows the normal rules.

Dark Archive

No. It does what it says. It allows full damage against an incorporeal or corporeal target as well as being able to be picked up by an incorporeal target. Nothing more. No getting touch attacks on top of that with a +1 weapon enchant.


Essentially the weapon conts as both corporeal and incorporeal at the same time. Because magic. You don't get incorporeal touch attacks against corporeal targets because the weapons corporeal-ness gets in the way, but you can stab ghosts because its incorporeal-ness hits their incorporeal-ness.


Yup i t's both incoporeal and real at the same time.
So in theory that ghost can take your favorite sword and put it through your face, same as you could put it through their face.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does Ghost Touch (Weapon Special Ability) grant Incorporeal Touch Attacks? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions