Bow, Guns and Bucklers


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

So there is no penalty for using a buckler and any gun
http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/ultimateCombat/combat/firearms.html#buck lers
so why is there a penalty for using a bow or crossbow, can someone point me in the right direction

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Because a gun can be aimed and fired with one hand. So can a hand crossbow. Thus the arm with the buckler does not need to be involved.

All of the others involve two hands to shoot and aim ,and since one of those hands is going to be attached to the arm with the buckler, the -1 penalty for having a buckler on the same arm as your wielding hand applies. This includes two handed firearms.

Scarab Sages

But Bucklers: You can use a one-handed or two-handed firearm without penalty while carrying a buckler.
But this line is the same for bows and crossbows, there in lays my confusion

Scarab Sages

If there is a link or something on how this is supposed to work it would be appreciated


There is no penalty for using a buckler with a bow...so I am confused as to what your question is.


Malokay wrote:

So there is no penalty for using a buckler and any gun

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/ultimateCombat/combat/firearms.html#buck lers
so why is there a penalty for using a bow or crossbow, can someone point me in the right direction

There isn't. It even says specifically that there is no penalty while using a bow or crossbow.

Scarab Sages

BUCKLER

Price 5 gp

Shield Bonus +1

This small metal shield is worn strapped to your forearm. You can use a bow or crossbow without penalty while carrying it. You can also use your shield arm to wield a weapon (whether you are using an off-hand weapon or using your off hand to help wield a two-handed weapon), but you take a –1 penalty on attack rolls while doing so. This penalty stacks with those that may apply for fighting with your off hand and for fighting with two weapons. In any case, if you use a weapon in your off hand, you lose the buckler's AC bonus until your next turn. You can cast a spell with somatic components using your shield arm, but you lose the buckler's AC bonus until your next turn. You can't make a shield bash with a buckler.

Well as mentioned by LazarX a lot of people think there is a penalty while using a buckler and a bow or crossbow. This is the case where I play, I just want to see what is the official rule

Scarab Sages

blahpers wrote:
Malokay wrote:

So there is no penalty for using a buckler and any gun

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/ultimateCombat/combat/firearms.html#buck lers
so why is there a penalty for using a bow or crossbow, can someone point me in the right direction
There isn't. It even says specifically that there is no penalty while using a bow or crossbow.

I agree with you, but is there something else that supports this line of thought, as there is the argument that there is a penalty while using the hand that has the buckler as instate in the description

Grand Lodge

Those are houserules.

You cannot manifest a penalty, not listed in RAW, when RAW specifically states there is no penalty, and then dare to call it RAW.

It is a houserule.


There is a penalty when using a weapon other than a bow, crossbow, or firearm. Now the only thing I've ever heard confusion on was whether or not you kept your AC bonus while using a bow.


The second and third line of the description contradict each other (unless one contends that a bow or crossbow is *not* a weapon). Yes, specific trumps general. However, the third line also contradicts the text for firearms which says:

PRD wrote:
Bucklers: You can use a one-handed or two-handed firearm without penalty while carrying a buckler.

So, bucklers give you a -1 to attack rolls with any weapons which use the bucklered-hand except for firearms, bows, and crossbows. However, using any weapon in the bucklered hand causes you to lose its AC bonus until the start of your next turn, even if it is a bow, crossbow or firearm.


That seems correct. It isn't clear whether using your buckler hand to reload a one-handed firearm held in a different hand would negate the buckler's AC bonus. Expect table variance.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Bow, Guns and Bucklers All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.