Improved Trip with a Whip- do I draw an AO?


Rules Questions


Do I draw an AO for tripping someone who is standing next to me with my whip despite having Improved Trip? I ask because an "unarmed trip attempt" (which isn't a trip using your unarmed strike, I guess) does *not* provoke, as far as I can tell. I imagine that the same answer will apply to disarming, etc in similar situations.


All trip attempts provoke unless you have improved trip.

Whips provoke AoO like ranged weapons.

You would provoke only 1 AoO for using a ranged weapon. If you didn't have improved trip, you would provoke for Ranged weapon AND Trip, and if they had combat reflexes could make 2 AoOs.


Wow, harsh. So, assuming I have improved trip, I should just trip with my unarmed strike, despite not having improved unarmed strike, because that won't provoke?


Tarantula has it. There are two distinct actions that provoke here: 1. Making a trip attempt; 2. Attacking with a whip (ranged weapon).

Improved Trip eliminates the AoO provocation for 1. It does nothing for 2. You'd need another feat to avoid that one (or just not be standing in someone's threatened area).


I'm a little hazy on if a unarmed trip with Improved Trip but not Improved Unarmed Strike would provoke. Since the trip takes the place of the attack, you aren't making an unarmed strike attack. So I think it would not provoke.

Grand Lodge

Or, ya know, 5 foot step away for them before tripping. With a whip (until you have whip mastery feat) you will provoke, whether you are tripping, disarming or attacking and even then, not standing next to people you are tripping means they can not hit you. (move to stand up, second move to move up too you)


Dafydd wrote:
Or, ya know, 5 foot step away for them before tripping. With a whip (until you have whip mastery feat) you will provoke, whether you are tripping, disarming or attacking and even then, not standing next to people you are tripping means they can not hit you. (move to stand up, second move to move up too you)

Not quite.

Move action to stand up.
5' step to get next to you.
Standard action to attack you.

Grand Lodge

Really? My GMs have always had it so that your move to stand up means you can not 5' that turn, monsters and pcs a like.

Well, it still means only a standard attack, no twf, no magus spell combat, no flurry, no pounce. Still a good option.


Standing up is a "move-equivalent" action, not movement. Move-equivalents still allow you to 5' step. Another example is: move action to ready weapon; 5' step; standard action to swing.


It's a bit unclear as to whether you can trip "without a weapon at all". But if you lack IUS and you're using Unarmed Strike to execute your trip, that'd provoke as well for the same reason as using the Whip without ITrip or casting a spell that has a ranged attack (ie. Scorching Ray). If you can, just make a Trip maneuver but not using any particular weapon. But if you must use a weapon, using Unarmed Strike will provoke anyway so you might as well utilize the reach of the whip (that's kind of the point of using a whip).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Improved Trip with a Whip- do I draw an AO? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions