
GM Art Severance |

Happy New Year, everyone!
To get the story moving, I posted that the caravan has moved on. However, don't let that stop you from interacting with Bear'f, who presumably joins the party, from selecting a masterwork weapon for Bear'f, or from doing any healing.
As a reminder, the following individuals are still wounded:
Geb is at -5 hp and unconscious. His maximum hp is 6.
Denge is down 2 hp.
Rafaelis and Albern are each down 1 hp.

GM Art Severance |

Dan and I were apparently both thinking about posting just now, as he posted for Bear'f while I was composing the campfire post!
I'm sorry about cross-posting, Dan. Let's hold off on the campfire scene for a bit while you meet Bear'f. Then we can continue.
For now, please interact with Bear'f (and heal up, if you want). And Dan, please have Bear'f pick a weapon.

Albern Fee |

GM Art Severance |

Albern Fee |

Both of the dogs also received an application of treat deadly wounds from the professor, although I believe the result was calculated incorrectly. I am not sure if that went into your sums.

GM Art Severance |

GM Art Severance |

I don't understand. Hanull and Adula get a full round of actions during what I assume is a surprise round rather than one standard action? It's not as if we weren't entirely unaware. One would expect at least a move equivalent for the shape shift on top of the attack actions.
Whoa, whoa, whoa! They only got a surprise round. She channeled (a standard action) and shape-shifted (a free action that lets you know what you're up against). He shape-shifted (again a free action) and attacked a flat-footed NPC (as opposed to a PC). Moreover, she healed the one dog whom channeling could have killed outright before the combat.
I understand you're worried, because channeling negative energy is the worst! Rest assured, I won't railroad you or intentionally break the rules to trounce you. I actually planned this encounter as an RP encounter that could possibly turn into a fight. It just developed into a fight, which is fine. I don't want to railroad you guys, especially in the only part of this campaign that's wholly unscripted, so I tried to write some encounters that could go either way and that had good RP potential.
I'm sorry, I had to work on Adventurers League stuff all day and evening, so I haven't had time to do the map or prepare the initiative order. I may still get to it this evening. If I do not, I'll do it first thing tomorrow.

Albern Fee |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Negative energy from cleric significantly higher level, and a monster, when you're at first level... now that's exciting! ;) I'm all antsy pants to see how this plays out.

Albern Fee |

Well it's also not in line with any of the other weres either, excepting things that are large as animals.
Rats, wolves: medium
Bears, Tigers: large
Maybe they got bit by were dire bats?

GM Art Severance |

Uh, yes, Herolab. Sorry, trying to do too many things today. The map is now prepared. You can go to the Roll 20 page and look at it.
PLEASE DO NOT MOVE ANYTHING.
I'm letting you look because you saw the camp set up. Once I turn on the dynamic lighting, some areas will be dark and others will be brightly or dimly lit, and it will vary by character. It took me forever to figure out!
Brett, when you move the dogs, they have their own vision accounted for (but not scent, we have to do that separately if it ever comes down to it, but it shouldn't in this fight).
I'll post initiative orders late tonight, turn on the dynamic lighting so the map gets shrouded in darkness, and resume the combat.
I did research werebats. There is nothing to indicate they should be large. I'll have to adjust the damage to Brethon (rerolling one die) and on my statblocks.
I'm sorry for the delays, some of this is just my learning curve, some is the fact that I wasn't planning for a fight here, and some is that I've been drowning in stuff that has to be done right now.

GM Art Severance |

F*@K! That's what I get for trusting Hero Lab AND the Pathfinder SRD. BOTH are wrong on different points.
1) The transformation is a move-equivalent action. That was my mistake, I'll retcon it.
2) They DO get large because the base creature MUST be a dire bat according to the lycanthropy rules. I'll adjust them on the map.
3) They only gain +2 STR, +2 CON, +2 Natural Armor, and DR (that one you'll have to do a knowledge (nature) check to figure out.
4) They gain a fly speed, lowlight vision, scent, and blindsense.
I'll fix the stat blocks and map, then reverse damage to Brethon, then post the initiatives here and resume the combat later tonight.
I'm so sorry and very frustrated!

![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

NO PROBLEM, Art! Thanks for being thorough. This is one of the cool things about Play by Post. You can always go back and fix it, after a good bit of research. At a table, there's a need to keep things moving and that means less time to research, etc.

GM Art Severance |

Interesting. So wererats must be from dire rats. TIL.
The lycanthrope template requires the base animal to be within 1 size category of the base humanoid. Regular bats are diminutive.
I just got the set creature out of the Bestiary 4 data package for Hero Lab. It got the size right, but not the senses or the modifiers, and the write-ups didn't mention the size increase. Hero Lab took the cleric's Str from 9 to 19 in hybrid form. It's supposed to be 13, 2 for the hybrid form and 2 for the size increase.

Albern Fee |

I dearly wanted a silvered weapon out the gate. Too bad they are so dang expensive! Oh well, nothing to be done about it now.

Albern Fee |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Should I say "I see no solutions given current set of input" criterion?
Anyways, using special materials is all way over Albern's head, unless someone specifically tells him otherwise.

![]() |

Art: I moved my pog on roll20, but it says the server connection has been interrupted. I moved him to stand next to Gribb, flanking him with Brethon.

GM Art Severance |

Art: I moved my pog on roll20, but it says the server connection has been interrupted. I moved him to stand next to Gribb, flanking him with Brethon.
Got it. It's appearing in the right place. Is the dynamic lighting working for you? I've never had to program it before. I tested everyone's pogs, and it seemed okay. The line of sight reveals are imperfect, but I think it works well in this sort of battle around a campfire.

![]() |

Is the dynamic lighting working for you? I've never had to program it before. I tested everyone's pogs, and it seemed okay. The line of sight reveals are imperfect, but I think it works well in this sort of battle around a campfire.
Yup. Looks cool!

![]() |

Point of clarification,
@ Art, my character brought along a candle lantern so there is some illumination around Rafaelis, although when he stopped concentrating upon the Mage Hand spell, the lantern dropped a short distance to the ground
@ Taldus, a +1 BAB is required when drawing a weapon as part of a move action.

GM Art Severance |

@ Alan, my character brought along a candle lantern so there is some illumination around Rafaelis, although when he stopped concentrating upon the Mage Hand spell, the lantern dropped a short distance to the ground.
I made a pog for the lantern and moved the light to it. Feel free to have dropped it in a different square adjacent to Rafaelis. You should have control of it.

Albern Fee |

Aoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo! I love em.
Well, the bat thing didn't take on me when I moved in (I don't think entangled prevents AoOs? Maybe I'm wrong?). So its all even-steven at the moment ;)

Albern Fee |

They kind of did away with the distinction in 3.5 I think, but they used to split up critters by tall and long. For large critters, tall has space/reach 10/10, long 10/5. Most animals are long, most humanoids tall. Hybrid form for a lycanthrope would be tall, and full animal long, I would think.
But I am happy with whatever the DM rules.

Albern Fee |

Yeah, I know. But in practice old habits die hard.
A werebear, for instance, is 10'/10', while a bear 10'/5'. *shrug*

![]() |

Awe bummer! I thought I had him.
But there is a crimp in what went on. See below. So either Liberating Command or Grace, not both. I am sure Anula would have chosen Grace followed by getting up out of the way to cast Darkness.
Immediate Actions
Much like a swift action, an immediate action consumes a very small amount of time but represents a larger expenditure of effort and energy than a free action. However, unlike a swift action, an immediate action can be performed at any time—even if it's not your turn. Casting feather fall is an immediate action, since the spell can be cast at any time.
Using an immediate action on your turn is the same as using a swift action and counts as your swift action for that turn. You cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn (effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn). You also cannot use an immediate action if you are flat-footed.

GM Art Severance |

Awe bummer! I thought I had him.
But there is a crimp in what went on. See below. So either Liberating Command or Grace, not both. I am sure Anula would have chosen Grace followed by getting up out of the way to cast Darkness.
Immediate Actions
Much like a swift action, an immediate action consumes a very small amount of time but represents a larger expenditure of effort and energy than a free action. However, unlike a swift action, an immediate action can be performed at any time—even if it's not your turn. Casting feather fall is an immediate action, since the spell can be cast at any time.
Using an immediate action on your turn is the same as using a swift action and counts as your swift action for that turn. You cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn (effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn). You also cannot use an immediate action if you are flat-footed.
That is all mostly correct except:
1) Hanull failed his Escape Artist check, so you still have him.
2) Adula cast liberating command as Hanull became entangled, using an immediate action. Then her turn came up in the initiative order, refreshing her actions. On her turn, she used a swift action to cast grace, a move action to stand, a free action to step 5' back so her spellcasting wouldn't provoke an attack of opportunity from Albern (the swift action did not provoke), and a standard action to cast darkness. So she used her immediate on one round and her swift on the second, leaving her unable to take any immediate actions until her next turn.
3) Adula was not flat-footed. She acted in the surprise round and again near the top of round 1.

GM Art Severance |

Thank you for reminding me about Hanull's AoO. He would of course, have taken it. I will adjudicate it now in the gameplay thread. Hanull does have 10' reach. My back and forth on that was because the two sources I was using had different stats listed. I finally had to go back to the template and base creatures and build him myself to figure out what size he had to be.