| Louis IX |
I haven't seen anything specifically pointing to that interpretation (or any other, really). Polymorph school says that if you change into a form from specific types (animal, etc), your current gear melds with your new form (and returns as normal when you change back). If you change into other types (say, humanoid) of another size, your gear changes size (but returns to normal when it leaves your person or the spell/effect ends).
In order to put on gear on a shape different than yours (say, an elephant), you'd have to buy and store the equipment beforehand. I believe that when you change back, you'd find yourself in the middle of a Huge Barding and Exotic Saddle combination (for instance). Or beside it (better because you might have used a Tiny shape and gear).
If the item is magical and you're able to wear it, I think it would resize itself to your new (real) shape. If you already wear an item in that slot, they'd become inactive (as per magic item slot rules). This is if you're able to actually wear the item (like an amulet of natural armor, for instance). I wouldn't want to have, say, Horseshooes of Speed nailed to my hands and feet when I transform back. Ouchie.
Note that no rule supports the storing of melded items without a magical effect. When you change back from a changed shape, the magical effect ended: this is not a new effect. I would support what you say if, and only if, you'd use another polymorph spell to change into something else (for example: when shaped into an animal, cast Alter Self to morph into an Orc). And even this is another can of worms (does your previously melded gear return?), which can be avoided simply by your GM saying "no".
| Claxon |
I believe the question wasn't about items melding into a new form, but about items that were put on while being shapeshifted: what do they become when the shapeshifting ends?
You're right, I misread the question.
I'm going to go with dangedly inconvenient. Item on your shapeshifted form I am going to say simply fall off or you find yourself surrounded by things to large for you. There aren't really rules for this, but I wouldn't allow players to basically deck themselves out in armor and other items and shiftback in forth between forms and still gain benefits. That's the purpose of the wild armor quality anyways.
| Louis IX |
I don't know about this whistle, and d20pfsrd references only a "werewhistle" that forces a Lycanthrope back into humanoid form.
Whether you speak about this one, or another that would force a wild-shaped druid or a beast-shaped-spellcaster (for instance) back into their natural body, the result would be the same: an effect like that ends the current polymorph spell, it doesn't add another layer to it. As such, the target wouldn't be magically shaped into a time-constrained form, and their gear wouldn't meld into said form.
If that is the effect you seek, ask your GM if he'd allow the gear worn by a character shapeshifted into an animal (for instance) to meld into a shape granted by Alter Self. If yes, use that.
| Claxon |
Claxon wrote:Item on your shapeshifted form I am going to say simply fall off or you find yourself surrounded by things to large for you.Too large? Suppose I wild-shape into a rat, put on my special rat barding and then the time limit on my wild-shape runs out while I'm still wearing it?
To large, as in you wildshape into an elephant put armor on your elephant form. You revert back and now you are surrounded by the giant armor your elephant self was wearing, mostly because it's funny.
You wildshape into a rat and put on barding? As I said as well, it simply falls away because you are large enough that your body simply pushes it off and away.
| Louis IX |
[...] You wildshape into a rat and put on barding? As I said as well, it simply falls away because you are large enough that your body simply pushes it off and away.
...or you apply the following text from the Enlarge Person spell (with or without the last sentence): "If insufficient room is available for the desired growth, the creature attains the maximum possible size and may make a Strength check (using its increased Strength) to burst any enclosures in the process. If it fails, it is constrained without harm by the materials enclosing it--the spell cannot be used to crush a creature by increasing its size."
Insta-tiny humanoid?
Side question: Enlarge Person dispels Reduce Person. As such, how would you treat a Medium character that's Reduced, put in a Small box, and then Enlarged?
1) Would the character stay Small?
2) Would the Reduce Person be dispelled?
3) Both of the above???
| Claxon |
Despite being similar, wildshape isn't Enlarge person so its text doesn't necessarily apply. But it is one way you could resolve it, sure.
In order to cast enlarge person you would need line of effect that would require opening the box or at least having some holes to see through and cast through. If the box is open they "grow" out of the box. Otherwise, resolve as normal.
| Tarantula |
Side question: Enlarge Person dispels Reduce Person. As such, how would you treat a Medium character that's Reduced, put in a Small box, and then Enlarged?
1) Would the character stay Small?
2) Would the Reduce Person be dispelled?
3) Both of the above???
Enlarge person counters and dispels reduce person. The creature would get a Fort save if they wanted to try to resist the effect. If they fail the save, enlarge dispels the reduce, so neither is in effect any longer.
2) Reduce is dispelled
The text for polymorph spells reads: "When you cast a polymorph spell that changes you into a creature of the animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin type, all of your gear melds into your body."
Therefore, I agree with Claxon, any gear that was worn while shapechanged simply falls to the ground around you when your polymorph effect wears off.
LazarX
|
So I was wondering if your gear that is placed on your shapeshifted form would be melded into your body much in the same way that your armor and equipment from your other form does when you wildshape.
I'm going to say no. Melding is part of the polymorph magic. When you are in your normal form, that magic is not in effect.