Tempest Cay


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Love that Paizo came out with a new "game" in S&S. And I am enjoying learning some of the new things.

But this one for some reason is stumping me.
3 characters are all at Tempest Cay, and the location deck is clear, so all that remains is closing the location.

Jirelle misses the roll, but Alahazra's turn is up next, and she makes the roll with a bit of help from Lem.

When Tempest Cay is Permanently Closed, it says
"On closing, move to a random other location"

So off to a random location Alahazra goes. The question is this:
Does the ship (and she is captain since she is the active player) go with her, and do the other 2 have the option of tagging along.

Thematically it seems like they would, but for some reason I just can't get this figured out in my head.

Thanks for any and all insight.


When the ship is not anchored, it is next to the scenario card and not technically AT any location. ANY TIME the character in command of an unanchored ship moves, others at their location may choose to go with them.


csouth154 wrote:
When the ship is not anchored, it is next to the scenario card and not technically AT any location. ANY TIME the character in command of an unanchored ship moves, others at their location may choose to go with them.

We use a little ship model as the active player token. For scenarios where the ship is not anchored, any time the active player moves, other characters at her location can move with the ship. When it's the next player's turn, they take the ship but no one gets to move with it during this "change of command."

So yeah, what csouth said.


So I have a question on Tempest Cay.

Tempest Cay wrote:
On closing, move to another location."

Does just the active character move or do any characters move.

Why is this confusing to me? Mostly because of wording on other cards.

Alehouse wrote:
On closing, you ma recharge an ally from your discard pile
Coastline wrote:
On closing, each character at this location may recharge a card that has the Pirate or...

bold emphasis mine.

Sometimes the When Permanently Closed effect states "you" or "each character" and sometimes its left vague.

Lonely Island is another.

Lonely Island wrote:
On closing, draw a random ally from the box and recharge it.

I'm pretty sure that unless it says "each character" it means "you" or only the active character but Tempest Cay was a prime example of uncertainty the last time I was playing a game and had two character's there.


Shade325 wrote:

So I have a question on Tempest Cay.

Tempest Cay wrote:
On closing, move to another location."

Does just the active character move or do any characters move.

Why is this confusing to me? Mostly because of wording on other cards.

Alehouse wrote:
On closing, you ma recharge an ally from your discard pile
Coastline wrote:
On closing, each character at this location may recharge a card that has the Pirate or...

bold emphasis mine.

Sometimes the When Permanently Closed effect states "you" or "each character" and sometimes its left vague.

Lonely Island is another.

Lonely Island wrote:
On closing, draw a random ally from the box and recharge it.
I'm pretty sure that unless it says "each character" it means "you" or only the active character but Tempest Cay was a prime example of uncertainty the last time I was playing a game and had two character's there.

If the character that closes Tempest Cay is commanding an unanchored ship at the time (in other words, if it is their turn and the ship is not anchored), then anyone else at the location may choose to move with them per the ship rules. In any other situation, only the character that closes the location moves.


The "When permanently closed" power of a location applies just to the character that closed it unless it says otherwise. They are imperatives. So you can put the "understood you" back into them. "On closing, you move to another location."

But the imperative doesn't have to have an "understood you." "On closing, each character at this location..." is also an imperative sentence that doesn't have an "understood you."

For example, if I wanted to command you to go to the store, I could say "Go to the store" or "You go to the store" as either would work. But if I wanted to command all of us to go to the store, I'd have to say "All of us will go to the store" since I have no way to communicate an "understood us" and have to make it explicit.

But that fact that you are forced to move when you close the Tempest Cay doesn't change the fact that the ship rules allow others to move anytime you move.

Likewise, when a "When Permanently Closed" power deals damage to your ship, it doesn't stop Jirelle from reducing it by 1, even if she didn't close the location.


The understood you is the confusing part not because the understood you is confusing but because its not consistent. Sometimes its a real you and sometimes its an understood you.

Another thought I keep having with Tempest Cay is that the When Closed effect is supposed to be a punishment... i.e. possibly throw you to a location that has a bad effect at the start of your turn. If this is the case was it intended to affect everyone at the location.

My instinct told me to play it with the understood you but I'd never really had two character's together at its closing before and it made me question?

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Shade325 wrote:
The understood you is the confusing part not because the understood you is confusing but because its not consistent. Sometimes its a real you and sometimes its an understood you.

Just remember that the cards are talking to you, and the instructions they give are intended only for you, unless they say otherwise.

To use your examples from before:

Alehouse wrote:


On closing, you may recharge an ally from your discard pile

Alehouse is telling you that you may recharge an ally.

Coastline wrote:


On closing, each character at this location may recharge a card that has the Pirate or...

Coastline is telling you that each character may recharge a card.

Lonely Island wrote:


On closing, draw a random ally from the box and recharge it.

Lonely Island is telling you to draw a random ally.

Tempest Cay wrote:


On closing, move to another location.

Tempest Cay is telling you to move to another location.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Tempest Cay All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion