
Cornielius |

Does anyone know what range 0 means for a spell?
The Whip of Ants, Whip of Spiders, Whip of Centipedes spells in the ACG have range: 0.
It's a summoning spell that gives you a 'whip' made of the swarm and which lets you use it 'as a whip' doing touch attacks at 15' range.
Personal would be wizard only and close would let you give the effect to someone with more hit points.
Zero is odd.

![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Range 0 means range of zero. In other words, the effect appears in your square.
I'm not sure you can give it to someone else. The text specifically says "you" can wield it. Doesn't even imply that others can. I don't know if that was intentional language or badly written, but I'm going to guess intentional (or so says my gut).

![]() |

Another note about range: See PRD -
"Range Expressed in Feet: Some spells have no standard range category, just a range expressed in feet."
BUT also: "A spell's range is the maximum distance from you that the spell's effect can occur, as well as the maximum distance at which you can designate the spell's point of origin. If any portion of the spell's area would extend beyond this range, that area is wasted."
However, I think the specific wording of the spell trumps the general rule, so you can use the spell beyond range "0" to whip people, or the summon swarm option beyond range "0".