Rules Questions arising from S&S's first B scenario and Hammerhead Shark


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion

Sovereign Court

I was playing the first scenario in S&S and killed a hammerhead shark henchman, and the rule was to put it under another open location.

Here's 2 questions that have arisen:
1. If you defeat the hammerhead and it moves to another open location, then you defeat it in the new location, can you attempt to close that location? (I know that the original henchman in this location was the ship.)

2. to randomly choose a location to put that shark under after I defeated it, I took blessings from the box to make a stack of blessings + shark equal to the number of open locations, shuffled that stack, then added one to the bottom of each... was this correct?

Thanks!


I haven't got my set yet, but based on previous experience:

1. Yes. The game doesn't expect you to remember where the henchman came from. This sounds like a similar effect to Undead Uprising. Pretend for a minute that you didn't know the other henchman in the location was a ship, but instead it had two Hammerhead Shark henchmen. If the deck got shuffled for some reason, you'd have no way to know which one was originally there and which one was added. Likewise, the game doesn't expect you to know that the location had a non-Hammerhead Shark henchman and provides no mechanism to guarantee you that you will.

2. I don't think so. If it just says to do it at a random location, just roll a die to determine which location. Unless something instructs you to get cards out of the box, don't get any cards out of the box. What you describe sounds similar to this.

But like I said, I haven't gotten mine yet. So I might be unaware of some other aspect of the scenario.

Grand Lodge

I've played the scenario also.

1) Once you defeat a Hammerhead Shark and place it under a random location, it doesn't matter if you encounter that one or another one that is in that stack already. It counts as a henchmen at that location.

Once defeated, it will go under (another) random location and hopefully you close the location it came from. (Of course you do need to go through the cards in the location deck in case you have multiple henchmen and the villain there.)

2) Nope. You do not need to use blessings elsewhere. You simply roll a die (or however you decide) and place the shark under that location. Yes, you know where it is going but you can't choose where it goes.

Sovereign Court

Thanks! I thought I was doing #1 correctly, as it seems like it would kind of fall into "Cards do not have memories".

I wasn't sure about #2, I think I was reading it as "Player shouldn't know location" (like when a villian escapes to an open location) instead of "Just put it in a random location".

Grand Lodge

I can understand why you did #2. But in this case, it's just a henchman and unlike the villain escaping to another location, you're allowed to know where Mr. Shark went.

You were putting it at the bottom of the location deck, right? (And not shuffling it in.)


Unless instructed to otherwise, when told to put something in a random location, you still get to know which location that is.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Rules Questions arising from S&S's first B scenario and Hammerhead Shark All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion