Compression Rule queston


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Compression (Ex) The creature can move through an area as small as one-quarter its space without squeezing or one-eighth its space when squeezing.

Does this mean that a Huge creature could squeeze itself into a medium sized space? Because that it what I am getting from it, it can comfortably move through a space one size category smaller than itself, or squeeze through one 2 size categories smaller.


Huge creatures take up 4 squares so it could be able to fit into a medium space without speezing. If it squeezes then it can fit into a much smaller area.

This would have been easier if they had referenced size categories but by using space/squares I think RAW it goes by what I just wrote.


wraithstrike wrote:

Huge creatures take up 4 squares so it could be able to fit into a medium space without speezing. If it squeezes then it can fit into a much smaller area.

This would have been easier if they had referenced size categories but by using space/squares I think RAW it goes by what I just wrote.

I think you mean 9 squares. So a huge creature could effectively squeeze (with compression) itself into a slightly larger than medium sized creatures space.

Grand Lodge

I interpreted this as 1/4 its normal width, since you squeeze through a width, not an area.

Otherwise a Colossal creature with Compression would we worse at squeezing (36/8->4 squares wide) than one without (6/2-> 3 squares wide.) The only creatures that would actually benefit are Large and Huge:
4/4-> 1 vs 2. Squeeze 4/8->.5 vs 1
9/4 ->2 vs 3. Squeeze 9/4->1.25 vs 1.5

16/4->4 vs 4. Squeeze 16/8->2 vs 2
25/4->8 vs 5. Squeeze 25/8->3 vs 2.5

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Compression Rule queston All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions