
Heladriell |
2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |

From the Spirit Guide Oracle Archetype:
A spirit guide gains one hex of her choice from the list of hexes available from that spirit. She uses her oracle level as her shaman level and her Charisma score instead of Wisdom for the purpose of determining its effects.
At 4th level, she adds the bonded spirit's spirit magic spells to her oracle spells known for that day, but only of spell levels she can cast. At 7th level, she gains the spirit ability of her current bonded spirit. At 15th level, she gains the greater spirit ability of her current bonded spirit.
This ability replaces the revelations gained at 3rd, 7th, and 15th levels.
My question is: This class feature includes Hex, but it's not "the Hex class feature" (although it is an hex from a class feature), so can an oracle with this archetype select Extra Hex Feat?

Heladriell |

It seems, however, that the intention was to allow the shaman to select any of the basic shaman hexes as well.
Also, why would the restriction specifically mentioning the shaman apply to the oracle? The oracle does not have the class feature "spirit", and should not suffer this restriction.
As a second interpretation, the feat provides only a hex that the character qualify for. The spirit guide oracle qualifies only for hexes from his chosen spirit of the day. That said, there are two interpretations allowing the feat:
1) The oracle receives a hex from his current spirit that can be changed each day (his hexes are wandering).
2) He receives a hex that can only be used in conjunction with a specific spirit, therefore being unable to use that hex unless when using that spirit for the day.

whew |
It seems, however, that the intention was to allow the shaman to select any of the basic shaman hexes as well.
Maybe. It looks like the guy who added the new Extra Hex text totally forgot that shamans also can get at least one witch hex and multiple not-spirit-specific shaman hexes. It would be nice to know if Extra Hex was meant to be usable for them.
Also, why would the restriction specifically mentioning the shaman apply to the oracle? The oracle does not have the class feature "spirit", and should not suffer this restriction.
The oracle is using the shaman rules for hexes: "She uses her oracle level as her shaman level".
He receives a hex that can only be used in conjunction with a specific spirit, therefore being unable to use that hex unless when using that spirit for the day.
If shamans are explicitly disallowed from doing that, why should it be allowed for oracles using shaman hexes?