Reach and Range Increments


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Does one measure the range of a spell/throw weapon/projectile weapon from the base of the creature/character or from the maximum reach of said entity?

For example, if one were to have 30 foot reach on a monster (or character) and also have one level of Wizard. You could easily cast shocking grasp (A touch range spell) and effect a target 30 feet away due to your reach. If however you measure from the base of the miniature, a acid splash (A short range spell) couldn't even get that far. So would a short range spell at first level (Range 25 feet) from a character with 30 foot reach be able to effect a target 55 feet away or simply 25 feet away making it "shorter" range than touch in this scenario.


You measure the range from the base of the creature. There is no rules anywhere that imply you measure from the end of the creature's reach reach. Yes, that means in extreme situations like the one you mention, you might end up with a 'short' range spell having less range than a touch spell. The rules aren't perfect.


You measure from the space you occupy, not the space you threaten. If you occupy more than one grid square, pick a square (or intersection, in the case of spells that target an intersection) of your choice and count from there.

Grand Lodge

That is what I thought, thanks for confirming.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Reach and Range Increments All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.