Multiclass Familiar Stolen


Rules Questions


Last night during a fight, our wizard's item familiar was stolen. He is a multiclass (double caster) and was saying that the penalty for losing his familiar carried over to his second caster class. He quoted: "If a wizard attempts to cast a spell without his bonded object worn or in hand, he must make a concentration check or lose the spell." as his reasoning. Is there really a penalty to the second casting class when losing a familiar?

Grand Lodge

No, he's just over-interpreting the rules.

Grand Lodge

Normally, a Familiar wouldn't affect spell casting. That line is for Bonded Objects, not familiars. There's no downside for having a lost familiar, you just have to pay to replace it.

Do you mean something different by "item familiar"?

Grand Lodge

Markov Spiked Chain wrote:

Normally, a Familiar wouldn't affect spell casting. That line is for Bonded Objects, not familiars. There's no downside for having a lost familiar, you just have to pay to replace it.

Do you mean something different by "item familiar"?

I assumed that's what he meant by "item familiar" but it probably is best to actually find out what he meant.


I want to say no, but given that many bonuses are considered to transfer over I think I would have to say yes. Unless the ability specifically references the class. Then I would say no.

Because the text does not say wizard spell I say that it sucks for multiclassed casters. I also allow sorcerer dips for those blaster builds to work.

Edit: I was assuming you meant a bonded object.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Multiclass Familiar Stolen All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions