Mythic Foe-Biting and Litanny of Righteousness.


Rules Questions


So both these abilities are awesome damage machines. The question I have is, since they both double damage, after calculation, do both their abilities stack as per the rule of multipliers(add up multipliers minus one) or they both go off?

So, for clarity, if I am criting with a scythe for x4 with both these abilities active, is it effectively x12 damage or x16 damage?


It's be x12 damage on such a critical strike. Same way with how figuring out critical hits and damage multipliers go, like with lance charges and such.


When there are multiple multiplier each one after the first you should subtract one from each multiplier and then add all of them together.

I can't find Mythic Foe-biting but a x4 critical with Litany of The Righteous should work out to x5 damage.


It's a legendary item property. It's irritating because it states that the total amount of damage is doubled. This can be tricky if some other effect (such as Vital Strike) doubles part of that damage beforehand. Do you add the multipliers for that portion and not for the other? But sometimes you double the dice, not the damage amount. How would you add the multiplers when they multiply different things?


Claxon wrote:

When there are multiple multiplier each one after the first you should subtract one from each multiplier and then add all of them together.

I can't find Mythic Foe-biting but a x4 critical with Litany of The Righteous should work out to x5 damage.

I can't help but think that's wrong in this instance, since Litany has similar wording to foe, biting. To quote(Since I'm not on my phone this time):

Quote:
If the target is evil, it takes double damage from attacks...

And:

Quote:
When this item deals damage, its user can use mythic power to double the total amount of damage it deals.

Emphasis mine, as they are both infered to double the damage after it is rolled. There are also several rule threads devoted to how litany of righteousness works but the concesnsus is that it doubles after total. Foe-biting seems to be a by and large an clearer written version of that ability.

blahpers wrote:
It's irritating because it states that the total amount of damage is doubled. This can be tricky if some other effect (such as Vital Strike) doubles part of that damage beforehand. Do you add the multipliers for that portion and not for the other? But sometimes you double the dice, not the damage amount. How would you add the multiplers when they multiply different things?

I agree, it's confusing hence my thread.

The way I've rationalized it as Cerberus Seven put it, it'd come out to X12. Since, traditional crit range mod stuff is handled separately as it doesn't touch the total damage. Then, using the rules of multiples in PF, I'd see I'm doubling it twice, but from two separate effects, resulting in a X3 instead of 2 spearate X2.

At least that's how I'm ruling it till proven otherwise.


Well, this may be a specific instance where what I said above isn't true, but in general:

Two doubles make a triple, not a quadruple.
A triple and a double makes a quadruple, not a sextuple.
A quadruple and a double make a quintuple, not a octcuple.


Any additional thoughts on this btw? I'd love to have some additional input on this.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mythic Foe-Biting and Litanny of Righteousness. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions