Rum Punch Scenario


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion

Grand Lodge

Card text:
"When you close a location, you may attempt to acquire any allies left in that location deck."
"When you acquire an ally, put it put it into an ally pile next to this scenario card."...

Does the second portion only refer to allies acquired via the first part, or all allies acquired during the scenario?

Does it only apply to allies acquired using a check to acquire, or also allies gained through other means (ex: add a card to your hand)?

My feeling is all in the scenario, and only through checks, but I thought I would confirm.


If they are separate lines, then I would agree they are separate powers and so it applies to all allies acquired. But not, adding a random card to your hand isn't acquiring. Charm Person, for instance, doesn't use the word acquire, so it isn't acquiring and wouldn't be affected. There are times you acquire cards without checks, in which case the scenario rule applies. So look for the word acquire.

Man I wish I had my cards.


Hawkmoon269 wrote:
Man I wish I had my cards.

Me too.

Sovereign Court

Attempt to acquire any allies in that deck? I like that!

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Hawkmoon269 wrote:
If they are separate lines, then I would agree they are separate powers and so it applies to all allies acquired. But not, adding a random card to your hand isn't acquiring. Charm Person, for instance, doesn't use the word acquire, so it isn't acquiring and wouldn't be affected. There are times you acquire cards without checks, in which case the scenario rule applies. So look for the word acquire.

All that is correct.

Grand Lodge

Thanks Vic and Hawk. That is how I read it, but I wanted to confirm before I started to demo at the FLGS ;)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Rum Punch Scenario All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion