White Haired Witch Questions


Rules Questions

The Exchange

I've read through all of the existing WHW threads and still have a few unanswered questions. So here goes:

If I have a maneuver master monk 1/white-haired witch 1, would I potentially be able to tie-up as a full-round action?
Flurry of Maneuvers - hair attack - free grapple (at -2), second grapple to tie-up (at -12)

I read on d20pfsrd that a ruling was made that the hair grab ability functions like the monster grab ability, which doesn't provoke an OA, gives +4 to the grapple maneuver, and triggers off of a melee attack that hits. Are any of the statements above incorrect?

Can I use the hair for the "free" touch attack granted from a touch spell (getting reach at level 4)?

If I cast touch of fatigue and deliver the attack through my hair, since I hit, would I get to then initiate a grab?

Does armor prevent the use of maneuver master's flurry of maneuvers?

Can the hair be used in OAs while grappling a creature?

Would extra hair pop out to make more attacks?

Can the hair grapple multiple creatures at once?

Would the WHW get +4 to grapple maneuvers due to the hair grab ability (the faq said the hair functions like the monster grab ability, which also provides a +4 to grapples)?

It seems that the hair is like an octopus tentacle which has the ability to sustain the grapple without giving the octopus the grappled condition but at -20. Is the WHW hair like this but without the -20 penalty?

Can a WHW pin and/or tie up a creature that is grappling with his/her hair with the grapple maneuver?

Does the WHW use intelligence instead of strength for subsequence grapple attempts while grappling with a creature (we know INT is used on the initial hit, but what about later)?

Does the witch need to "sustain" the grapple with standard actions or does it get it for free like an octopus tentacle? If so, with or without the -20?

Thanks folks!


Luminos wrote:

I've read through all of the existing WHW threads and still have a few unanswered questions. So here goes:

If I have a maneuver master monk 1/white-haired witch 1, would I potentially be able to tie-up as a full-round action?
Flurry of Maneuvers - hair attack - free grapple (at -2), second grapple to tie-up (at -12)

I read on d20pfsrd that a ruling was made that the hair grab ability functions like the monster grab ability, which doesn't provoke an OA, gives +4 to the grapple maneuver, and triggers off of a melee attack that hits. Are any of the statements above incorrect?

Can I use the hair for the "free" touch attack granted from a touch spell (getting reach at level 4)?

If I cast touch of fatigue and deliver the attack through my hair, since I hit, would I get to then initiate a grab?

Does armor prevent the use of maneuver master's flurry of maneuvers?

Can the hair be used in OAs while grappling a creature?

Would extra hair pop out to make more attacks?

Can the hair grapple multiple creatures at once?

Would the WHW get +4 to grapple maneuvers due to the hair grab ability (the faq said the hair functions like the monster grab ability, which also provides a +4 to grapples)?

It seems that the hair is like an octopus tentacle which has the ability to sustain the grapple without giving the octopus the grappled condition but at -20. Is the WHW hair like this but without the -20 penalty?

Can a WHW pin and/or tie up a creature that is grappling with his/her hair with the grapple maneuver?

Does the WHW use intelligence instead of strength for subsequence grapple attempts while grappling with a creature (we know INT is used on the initial hit, but what about later)?

Does the witch need to "sustain" the grapple with standard actions or does it get it for free like an octopus tentacle? If so, with or without the -20?

Thanks folks!

I can try to address some of these. I know a bit about grappling and natural attacks, so I think I can be of use.

The first thing to notice is that looking at the "grab" monster rule we see:

Bestiary wrote:
The creature has the option to conduct the grapple normally, or simply use the part of its body it used in the grab to hold the opponent. If it chooses to do the latter, it takes a –20 penalty on its CMB check to make and maintain the grapple, but does not gain the grappled condition itself.

That tells me that when the WHW grabs, she always does the latter and her hair is in use while maintaining the grapple. This will be important for a few reasons.

1)Yes, this should work

2)Here is the James Jacobs remark. When I read it, I get the distinct impression that he just meant the trigger part. The AoO part is already covered in the hair description. My interpretation would be that you don't get the bonus. Keep in mind, that is an unofficial answer/ruling. He often is just trying to explain how things work, so he sometimes misses the implications that his wording provides.

3)If you look ahead at answer 4, you see that the magic energy can go through the hair. Based on this, I believe you can do a ranged touch.

4)Here's the relevant text:

Core Rulebook wrote:
Holding the Charge: If you don't discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action. Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren't considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack normally doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack. If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge.

So, no you can't use it for the free action, but you can use the free action to hold the charge, then you can attack as you would normally. If you hit, you can grapple. Keep in mind, when you do it this way you aren't hitting for touch AC anymore. Whether or not the grapple happens before or after the spell works is up for debate.

5)No

6,7,8)No, see the text before #1. You can do a second grapple with your arms though.

9)See above, but I think no.

10)You don't get the penalty. Other than that see the remarks on grab.

11)The way I read the hold part of the grab description makes it sound like it can only do damage. If the hair does in fact function like a hold, probably not. I'm not really sure on this one.

12)Yes. As far as I can discern, grapple attempts and grapple checks use the same bonuses/modifiers/etc.

13)I can't find any octopus that has something in it's description outside of grab. You probably need to do the grapple check though.

Those are just my educated guesses without researching too much. Hopefully they help.

The Exchange

Thanks!!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / White Haired Witch Questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions