
![]() |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
There are a number of effects and prerequisites that affect or require a specific class, rather than a class feature. Do those affect a hybrid class as well, or only the parent?
Best example I can think of is the Bloodrager:
If the Bloodrager can be considered a Sorcerer for the purposes of class-based effects, then an Undine with the Elemental (Water) bloodline would receive an effective +2 Charisma to Bloodrager spells and class features.
If the Bloodrager is not considered a sorcerer for the purposes of class-based effects, then a Bloodrager who goes into Dragon Disciple does not need to have the Draconic bloodline, and he would get the benefits of the sorcerer's Draconic bloodline as he advance levels.
I can see some precedent for this, either way. A bloodrager is not a sorcerer, clearly. They can even multiclass together now (though there is some limitation with regards to class abilities). Therefore, things that require or affect sorcerers would not interact with bloodragers in the same way.
On the other hand, the other type-based combinations that we have (races like Half-elf), the hybrid race counts as both sides for the purposes of requirements and affects.
So which is it? I tried to search, and the question came up a couple times in the playtest, but I couldn't find a clear answer.

![]() |
I think it's is own separate class now. A Bloodrager is as much a barbarian and a sorcerer as a Fighter is a sorcerer or a wizard a barbarian.
Awesome. That would mean that I can enter Dragon Disciple regardless of existing bloodlines. Although it does mean that the plane-touched races aren't quite as good at it. :)

![]() |

If the bloodrager takes levels in another class that grants
a bloodline, the bloodlines must be the same type, even if
that means that the bloodline of one of the classes must
change. Subject to GM discretion, the bloodrager can
change his former bloodline to make them conform.
Your existing bloodline would change to Draconic.

![]() |
Quote:Your existing bloodline would change to Draconic.If the bloodrager takes levels in another class that grants
a bloodline, the bloodlines must be the same type, even if
that means that the bloodline of one of the classes must
change. Subject to GM discretion, the bloodrager can
change his former bloodline to make them conform.
So would it change to the Bloodrager's Draconic bloodline, or the Sorcerer's?
They have different spells, powers, feats. Even when the powers are the same, they come online at different levels.
This is really the core of my question. Is a sorcerer bloodline the same as a bloodranger bloodline of the same name.
Clearly, if you multiclass into one of the new archetypes that use bloodrager bloodlines, then bloodrager levels need to match. Similarly, an arcanist with the bloodline exploits would need to match.
To make myself clear: Bloodrager 5/DD 1.
For the purposes of his Draconic bloodline, is he level 5, 1, or 6? Do his claws do 1d6 or 1d4 base damage? Would the breath attack be available at level 8(bloodrager bloodline), or at level 9 (sorcerer); would that breath attacks DC be based on Constitution or Charisma?