Undead Anatomy....again!


Rules Questions


5 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Can we have an official answer on this spell? Can it allow shapes with templates or not? If yes, even non humanoid but humanoid shaped monsters like many outsiders?

Thank you very much :)


From the Polymorph subschool section of the prd/Core Rulebook: Polymorph spells cannot be used to assume the form of a creature with a template or an advanced version of a creature.


Yes, but from the spell itself there are 2 examples out of 3 regarding templated creatures, so it's confusing at best

Dark Archive

Yes, it does let you assume templated forms. The spell is specifically overriding the general polymorph rules in this regard.

It doesn't matter in most cases because what you get from the spell is very specific. For example, if you turn into a vampire with UA1, all you get out of it is a bite attack, two slams (no energy drain), darkvision, and arguably a climb speed (20). You would not get any of the vampire's other abilities, including the vampire's blood drain (though you would get this with UA2.)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Undead Anatomy....again! All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.