
Gargosh |

Hi!
I have a question about the explore action.
I have problem understanding how many times I can explore on a turn...
I know that at the start of a round, I can explore for free one time.
After that, can I use an ally then a blessing and an ability on a location card (ex: Town Square) to explore for a total of 4 times in the same turn? ... the rules seems to confuse me (english language is not my main language (french))
Thanks

Hawkmoon269 |

There is no limit. As long as you can do something to explore, like play a blessing or ally, you can keep exploring.
The only thing that limits exploring is that during an exploration, you can't gain two additional explorations. That is where this part of the rules comes in:
Many effects allow you to explore again on your turn; if, during a single exploration, multiple effects each give you an additional exploration, it counts as a total of 1 more exploration, not a series of additional explorations.
For example, if Ezren is at the Academy and on his first exploration encounters an item with the Magic trait and acquires it, both his power and the "at this location" power of the Academy grant him an extra exploration. But he doesn't get two explorations, he only gets one exploration.

isaic16 |

Also, in general you can only explore during your explore phase (that means once you explore, you've passed the trade cards and movement phases), and if you use a card to explore before you use your free exploration, you lose the free one (In general, there's no reason to do this, so just make sure you remember your free exploration. It is free after all).

Firedale2002 |

Also, in general you can only explore during your explore phase (that means once you explore, you've passed the trade cards and movement phases), and if you use a card to explore before you use your free exploration, you lose the free one (In general, there's no reason to do this, so just make sure you remember your free exploration. It is free after all).
By the rules, you can't actually use cards to explore before your free exploration. If you explore, your first exploration has to be the free one.
"Explore: You may explore your location once each turn without
playing a card that allows you to explore; this must be your first
exploration for the turn."