Inquisitor Judgements and the Anger Inquisition


Rules Questions


Can a raging Inquisitor, such as one with the Anger Inquisition, still use Judgements or switch Judgements that are already in effect from before raging?

Shadow Lodge

Why couldn't they? Its an action that 1:Fits rage[you are singling out a single person to destroy quicker, similar to getting mad at them], 2:Takes around a half-second to perform[swift action], and 3:Isn't a skill check based off of Int/Cha/Dex, nor one that takes patience or concentration[see point 2].


The argument could be made that it takes concentration to change a judgment; I don't think there is a clear RAW statement either way.

I would certainly let you do it as a GM, though.


Yeah, I thought It'd work at first but reading over rage, I wasn't sure about the patience or concentration part. Too bad about casting while raging, thematically Blistering Invective is perfect while raging but rules wise not so much.


Looking further down the line I can see another similar situation: can a magus (a multi charge spell magus for this example) cast a spell, accept a Skald's song and then spend arcane pool points to further augment their attack?

Dark Archive

Torbyne: No. You either accept or deny the Skald's rage as a free action at the beginning of your turn.


Right, I wasn't the clearest on my hypothetical, it would be better to say, "if you accept a Skald's rage bonuses does the prohibit spending arcane pool points?" Under the same concern that spending arcane points or using a judgement sounds like something that would require patience or concentration but those aren't well defined concepts in the rules.

Shadow Lodge

I think that any ability that takes less then a second to use is not something that you need patience and concentration to use, personally. While I don't allow spellcasting while raging[it has a concentration mechanic], most actions that take less than one round I'll allow because focusing on something for less than 6 seconds doesn't require much patience and concentration IMO. Of course, this isn't well defined by the rules, so will vary wildly between GMs. I had a GM say that Canny Defense couldn't be used while raging, one say that you couldn't fight defensively, and then one say that you could cast spells, even ones with 3-round casting time while raging [different characters, none were mine].

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Inquisitor Judgements and the Anger Inquisition All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions