Retraining during level 1 - What is not allowed?


Pathfinder Society

Sovereign Court 1/5

Hi! Figured this would be the place to ask about the following.

The relevant text from the Guide to Pathfinder Society:

"At the start of a Pathfinder’s career, you are allowed to
adjust your character before settling in for the long haul.
Before you level up a character for the first time, you
may change any aspect of it except its Pathfinder Society
Number. Changes may only be made between adventures
and before playing as a character above 1st level. Any
exceptions will be noted in the Pathfinder Society FAQ.
You are able to keep all treasure, Prestige Points, special
boons, and XP that you have earned and apply them to the
character once you retrain as long as the character meets
the criteria above."

What about consumables?
Potion of cure light wounds quaffed = unable to be retrained away for your money back?

Now a more interesting one...
What about a riding dog that was turned to stone but able to be dragged back to the lodge? What about the equipment the dog was carrying? (Poor puppy)

Thanks guys!

Silver Crusade 4/5

Consumables that were used remain bought and used. I'd say killing off your pet counts as using it as a consumable. Unfortunately, that probably also applies to anything else it was carrying.

But other than the consumables, pretty much anything goes on level 1 rebuilds.

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/5

Fromper wrote:
Consumables that were used remain bought and used.

That also applies to part-used consumables, e.g. wands with a few charges used. You can't sell them back for the cost of the remaining charges or anything like that.

Sovereign Court

You can only re-spend money from your original 150gp. If your fighter already bought a masterwork greatsword and you change him to a wizard - it's going to be a wizard with a masterwork greatsword.

5/5

Charon's Little Helper wrote:
You can only re-spend money from your original 150gp. If your fighter already bought a masterwork greatsword and you change him to a wizard - it's going to be a wizard with a masterwork greatsword.

Really? Why is that?

The Guide wrote:

Character Retraining

Pathfinder Society is all about player choices and living
with those choices once you’ve made them. However, there
is a method for allowing you to change your character
through a process of retraining.

At the start of a Pathfinder’s career, you are allowed to
adjust your character before settling in for the long haul.
Before you level up a character for the first time, you
may change any aspect of it except its Pathfinder Society
Number. Changes may only be made between adventures
and before playing as a character above 1st level. Any
exceptions will be noted in the Pathfinder Society FAQ.
You are able to keep all treasure, Prestige Points, special
boons, and XP that you have earned and apply them to the
character once you retrain as long as the character meets
the criteria above.

4/5 ****

Charon's Little Helper wrote:
You can only re-spend money from your original 150gp. If your fighter already bought a masterwork greatsword and you change him to a wizard - it's going to be a wizard with a masterwork greatsword.

Not true.

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

Pirate Rob wrote:
Charon's Little Helper wrote:
You can only re-spend money from your original 150gp. If your fighter already bought a masterwork greatsword and you change him to a wizard - it's going to be a wizard with a masterwork greatsword.
Not true.

I'll second this as well, for the reasons quoted above.

Liberty's Edge 5/5

According to the PFS FAQ, first-level characters can sell back gear at full-price. There's no mention here of it only being the first 150gp.

Sovereign Court 1/5

Fromper wrote:
I'd say killing off your pet counts as using it as a consumable. Unfortunately, that probably also applies to anything else it was carrying.

This is what we gathered from the text and went forward assuming that was the case. Wife and I knew going in that her riding dog named Sir Reginald Sparklebottom was likely not to survive into old age.

Or from another perspective... one could say that he now lives on forever as a statue in her accomidations!

Thanks for the replies.

Sovereign Court

Nefreet wrote:
Pirate Rob wrote:
Charon's Little Helper wrote:
You can only re-spend money from your original 150gp. If your fighter already bought a masterwork greatsword and you change him to a wizard - it's going to be a wizard with a masterwork greatsword.
Not true.
I'll second this as well, for the reasons quoted above.

You sure - I could have sworn I saw Brock make a post stating it thus.

4/5

Charon's Little Helper wrote:
Nefreet wrote:
Pirate Rob wrote:
Charon's Little Helper wrote:
You can only re-spend money from your original 150gp. If your fighter already bought a masterwork greatsword and you change him to a wizard - it's going to be a wizard with a masterwork greatsword.
Not true.
I'll second this as well, for the reasons quoted above.
You sure - I could have sworn I saw Brock make a post stating it thus.

Well, the FAQ doesn't seem to make any distinction between starting gold and gold earned during a scenario:

FAQ wrote:


For first level retraining, can I sell back my gear at full price?
Yes.

posted Aug 5, 2013

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Retraining during level 1 - What is not allowed? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society