Riftwarden orphan recharging a staff


Rules Questions


The rules for staves state that only one charge can be refilled per day. A riftwarden orphan rolls 1d10 + his mythic tier to recharge a chargeable magic item. I was just curious if the mythic rule overrides the staff rule.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
Gordo the Generous wrote:
The rules for staves state that only one charge can be refilled per day. A riftwarden orphan rolls 1d10 + his mythic tier to recharge a chargeable magic item. I was just curious if the mythic rule overrides the staff rule.

In my game (my PCs just became mythic last night), I'm house-ruling that the staff takes precedence (1 staff charge per use of mythic power).

Grand Lodge

Gordo the Generous wrote:
The rules for staves state that only one charge can be refilled per day. A riftwarden orphan rolls 1d10 + his mythic tier to recharge a chargeable magic item. I was just curious if the mythic rule overrides the staff rule.

I don't see why it shouldn't. But then again, I would not allow that trait outside the campaign it's balanced for. Campaign traits are generally much more powerful than standard traits because they are balanced for the campaign they're intended for. A DM should really think twice about allowing them for general use.


Gordo the Generous wrote:
The rules for staves state that only one charge can be refilled per day. A riftwarden orphan rolls 1d10 + his mythic tier to recharge a chargeable magic item. I was just curious if the mythic rule overrides the staff rule.

I'm not completely sure what you are asking here?

Are you asking if the trait lets you recharge more than 1 charge per day?
If so then the answer is yes. Specific trumphs general. 1 charge per day is a general rule. The trait rule is a specific rule that differs from general.

Are you asking if the trait lets you recharge more than 1 charge per use?
No idea. I can't find the rules you are refering to.


LazarX wrote:
Gordo the Generous wrote:
The rules for staves state that only one charge can be refilled per day. A riftwarden orphan rolls 1d10 + his mythic tier to recharge a chargeable magic item. I was just curious if the mythic rule overrides the staff rule.
I don't see why it shouldn't. But then again, I would not allow that trait outside the campaign it's balanced for. Campaign traits are generally much more powerful than standard traits because they are balanced for the campaign they're intended for. A DM should really think twice about allowing them for general use.

Thanks, the trait is for a character playing in Wrath of the Righteous.


Lifat wrote:
Gordo the Generous wrote:
The rules for staves state that only one charge can be refilled per day. A riftwarden orphan rolls 1d10 + his mythic tier to recharge a chargeable magic item. I was just curious if the mythic rule overrides the staff rule.

I'm not completely sure what you are asking here?

Are you asking if the trait lets you recharge more than 1 charge per day?
If so then the answer is yes. Specific trumphs general. 1 charge per day is a general rule. The trait rule is a specific rule that differs from general.

Are you asking if the trait lets you recharge more than 1 charge per use?
No idea. I can't find the rules you are refering to.

Thank you, the first part of your answer was what I was looking for.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Riftwarden orphan recharging a staff All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions