Wilderness Soldiers - Clarification


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Hey folks--

I have some questions about the way Wilderness Soldiers (UC 249) is worded and wanted to clarify.

The spell wording [Emphasis Added]:

You call on the plants nearby to aid you in combat. This spell is ineffective if no plants you can direct are within the area. You can spend a swift action and/or a standard action on each of your turns to direct one of the following attacks.

The attack bonus or CMB for these attacks equals your base attack bonus + your Wisdom modifier. You grant a +1 bonus per three caster levels (maximum +5) on damage rolls due to this spell. Your wilderness soldiers never provoke attacks of opportunity, and they do not count as allies for flanking or other purposes.

Tree: A tree makes a melee attack with a 10-foot reach from its trunk. A hit deals an amount of damage equal to 1d8 points + your Wisdom modifier. The tree can instead attempt a bull rush, drag, or reposition combat maneuver with the same reach, but the tree cannot move itself.

Undergrowth or Hedgerow: Acting as a Medium creature, one square of undergrowth or hedgerow attempts a grapple combat maneuver against an opponent within or adjacent to that square. Heavy undergrowth gains a +2 bonus to its CMD. Undergrowth cannot move the grapple or pin a foe, but it can deal an amount of damage equal to 1d4 points + your Wisdom modifier by making a successful grapple check against a foe it is grappling. The undergrowth’s CMD is 5 + its CMB. If you fail to direct the undergrowth to maintain the grapple, it releases its opponent.

------------------

The Situation:

Characters are in the woods and attacking some bandits. Druid casts Wilderness Soldiers. There are six trees in the emanation and several squares of undergrowth

------------------

The Questions:

Does the type of action (Swift vs Standard) change what you are allowed to do? There is nothing in the spell to describe when an attack would be a Swift and when it would be a Standard.

When I command the trees to attack, do all of the trees in the emanation make the attack or only a single tree?

Similarly, if I command the undergrowth to attack, do all of the squares attack or only a single square?

If I spend both a Swift and a Standard, can I make multiple attacks?

The wording seems to suggest just one attack, though I could pick a different tree each round as long as it is within the emanation. If its all of the trees or undergrowth, then it feels similar to Black Tentacles, but at a lower level and requiring plants.

Thanks!


1. The way I read it, there is no difference/restriction on which action you can take via this spell. In fact, you should be able to use both your swift and standard actions to activate 1 attack each from the spell every round, both of which could be the same option.

2. 1 tree only, you get to pick the most advantageous one though.

3. 1 opponent only, this distinction is important if you are fighting tiny or smaller creatures that can occupy a single square.

4. answered in 1.

5. each activation let's you select a single plant to aid you with a single attack

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wilderness Soldiers - Clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions