Arcane Bond and multiclass casters


Rules Questions


Would the loss of the bonded item affect casting in the casters other class?

Arcane Bond wrote:
If a wizard attempts to cast a spell without his bonded object worn or in hand, he must make a concentration check or lose the spell.

It doesn't say anything about it needing to be a Wizard spell, and I've seen more than a little dipping to get things that boost spellcasting to boost other classes, so would this negative effect do the same thing?


Class abilities are written as if no other class exists. It would o ly affect a different t class if rhat class also had arcane bond.


No. Different classes gets their magic in different ways. If you have a bonded item and lose it, it only affects your wizard casting, not the cleric/sorcerer/whatever else you have, since those spells have nothing to do with that bonded item.

If you multiclass with other classes that also have bonded item: I'm not sure you're allowed to pick the same item twice, you would probably need two different bonded items for each class? If not, it would affect both classes.


These answers are exactly right according to one FAQ, and exactly wrong according to another (the Bloodline Arcana FAQ).

My current feeling is that the Bloodline Arcana FAQ's "general rule" is just plain wrong.


seebs wrote:

These answers are exactly right according to one FAQ, and exactly wrong according to another (the Bloodline Arcana FAQ).

My current feeling is that the Bloodline Arcana FAQ's "general rule" is just plain wrong.

I this will come down to them defining what they mean by modifying. I don't see the arcane bond as modifying spellcasting any.more than not having a spell component pouch does.


The sorcerer faq was what has me thrown. It feels off that losing your wizard ring would take out unrelated casting but, if bloodline arcana can boost non-sorc casting, perhaps the loss of a bonded item ought be taking out other casting.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Mighty Squash wrote:
The sorcerer faq was what has me thrown. It feels off that losing your wizard ring would take out unrelated casting but, if bloodline arcana can boost non-sorc casting, perhaps the loss of a bonded item ought be taking out other casting.

The idea behind the FAQ was that spells would be modified by class features. As an example if a class feature allows you to change a fire spell to a cold spell it would always work.

You should also check the magus FAQ to understand the difference between when a class only affects its own spells, and when it affects others.

PS: I am convinced that it should be rewritten.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Arcane Bond and multiclass casters All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions