Intelligent Items and CL


Rules Questions


So how do you know what CL the item is to determine the effects of a spell cast by an intelligent Item?

For example, an intelligent item with the ability to cast a 2nd level spell 1/day - Barkskin.

If the item only has a +1 enchantment, then the CL is 3, right? So casting Barkskin would give the creature touched a +2 natural armor bonus.

If the item has a +1 enchantment and the Spell Storing ability (CL 12), would the target creature of Barkskin get +5 natural armor bonus to AC?

It just kind of seems weird that a 5th level caster with Craft Arms and Armor can create a 12 level casting intelligent item (bypassing the req by adding 5 to DC for Spell Storing Ability).

Am I missing something?


I think you're probably right, and the intelligent item rules are sort of weird. There doesn't appear to be anything to give the item's intelligent-ness a distinct caster level, so yeah.


seebs wrote:
I think you're probably right, and the intelligent item rules are sort of weird. There doesn't appear to be anything to give the item's intelligent-ness a distinct caster level, so yeah.

I thought so, but I wasn't sure. That is a sick ability for a 5th level caster to have. It's nice because a fighter with an intelligent weapon can just have his weapon turn on its flaming or corrosive abilities for him instead of wasting a standard action in combat doing it himself.


Raging Hobbit wrote:
seebs wrote:
I think you're probably right, and the intelligent item rules are sort of weird. There doesn't appear to be anything to give the item's intelligent-ness a distinct caster level, so yeah.
I thought so, but I wasn't sure. That is a sick ability for a 5th level caster to have. It's nice because a fighter with an intelligent weapon can just have his weapon turn on its flaming or corrosive abilities for him instead of wasting a standard action in combat doing it himself.

a) the rules for intelligent items are quite odd; but I doubt any GM would allow a PC to make one with a higher CL than his/her own.

b) According to at least one FAQ (which some people disagree with), there is no need to turn on the flaming/etc abilities of a weapon - that functionality is only present so it can be deliberately turned off. Sheathing a weapon suppresses the flaming/etc property and it springs back into action as soon as the weapon is drawn again. Try a search and you'll find argumental threads about it ad nauseum.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

One of my favorite custom intelligent items is a ring of telekinesis. There is nothing quite so enjoyable as getting a full attack and then having your ring throw a bunch of swords at your enemies every round as well.


Huh, I would have assumed that the "lifting and moving" restricted it to the slow movement form, but the description doesn't actually SAY that.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

It's even better when you consider the fact that the ring is a fine-sized construct that can more or less fly about under its own power. Makes a terrific spy if you both have aligned goals (which I imagine is typically the case if you forge it yourself).


Under magic item creation.. It states (kind of hard to find but its there) You have to be CL 15 to create intelligent items. So it would seem that they are ATLEAST CL 15.


Major Disaster wrote:
Under magic item creation.. It states (kind of hard to find but its there) You have to be CL 15 to create intelligent items. So it would seem that they are ATLEAST CL 15.

Two issues:

1. You can create an item at a lower caster level than the listed CL, in general.
2. "Kind of hard to find but its there" does not help us find it. The number 15 occurs on the page several times, but not once in relation to caster levels.

There was a rule like that in 3.5, but I don't think it's still present in Pathfinder.

So:

d20

d20 wrote:

...

Item Creation Feat Required

Craft Wondrous Item.

Intelligent Item Creation

To create an intelligent item, a character must have a caster level of 15th or higher. Time and creation cost are based on the normal item creation rules, with the market price values on Table: Item Intelligence, Wisdom, Charisma, and Capabilities treated as additions to time, gp cost, and XP cost. The item’s alignment is the same as its creator’s. Determine other features randomly, following the guidelines in the relevant section.

Adding New Abilities

A creator can add new magical abilities to a magic item with no restrictions. [...]

But:

Pathfinder

Pathfinder wrote:

...

Item Creation Feat Required: Craft Wondrous Item.

Skill Used In Creation: Spellcraft or an applicable Craft or Profession skill check.

Adding New Abilities

Sometimes, lack of funds or time make it impossible for a magic item crafter to create the desired item from scratch. Fortunately, it is possible to enhance or build upon an existing magic item. Only time, gold, and the various prerequisites required of the new ability to be added to the magic item restrict the type of additional powers one can place.

So it seems to me that this restriction was removed.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Major Disaster wrote:
Under magic item creation.. It states (kind of hard to find but its there) You have to be CL 15 to create intelligent items. So it would seem that they are ATLEAST CL 15.

I remember that rule from v3.5.

It does not exist in Pathfinder. Even if it did, you may well be able to ignore it by adding +5 to the Spellcraft creation DC.

Silver Crusade

The rules for an intelligent item's CL are the same as for all magic items; that's why there's no specific mention of establishing CL in the intelligent item section.

All intelligent items are based on non-intelligent magic items, and these already have an associated CL. Use this CL for the powers gained from being an intelligent item, except if it gives an SLA with a higher minimum CL, then use that as the item CL for all purposes.

For example, since magic weapons with an enhancement bonus have a CL of 3xbonus, then a +1 sword is CL 3. If this sword is made intelligent and this gives it CLW 3/day, since the minimum CL for CLW is CL1, then this doesn't increase the item's CL, so CLW heals 1d8+3 damage.

If the same sword has haste 1/day, then the minimum CL for that is CL5, therefore the item itself (and any SLA it has) is CL5, and its CLW heals 1d8+5.

If the sword is enchanted with keen, the minimum for that is CL10, so the whole item is CL10. CLW from it is cast at 10th level, but the limit if CLW has been hit so it still only heals 1d8+5.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Stop being logical and reasonable, Malachi!
You know that isn't what people want to hear. :P


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Malachi Silverclaw wrote:

The rules for an intelligent item's CL are the same as for all magic items; that's why there's no specific mention of establishing CL in the intelligent item section.

All intelligent items are based on non-intelligent magic items, and these already have an associated CL. Use this CL for the powers gained from being an intelligent item, except if it gives an SLA with a higher minimum CL, then use that as the item CL for all purposes.

For example, since magic weapons with an enhancement bonus have a CL of 3xbonus, then a +1 sword is CL 3. If this sword is made intelligent and this gives it CLW 3/day, since the minimum CL for CLW is CL1, then this doesn't increase the item's CL, so CLW heals 1d8+3 damage.

If the same sword has haste 1/day, then the minimum CL for that is CL5, therefore the item itself (and any SLA it has) is CL5, and its CLW heals 1d8+5.

If the sword is enchanted with keen, the minimum for that is CL10, so the whole item is CL10. CLW from it is cast at 10th level, but the limit if CLW has been hit so it still only heals 1d8+5.

Good answer. That's that way I read it too. It seemed a little easy so I wanted to make sure I had my stuff straight before I went into depth with it with the GM. Thanks.


Sorry for that guys.. I stand corrected.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Intelligent Items and CL All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.