Lich and the magic jar spell


Rules Questions


If a lich uses magic jar to possess and control a body, and then that body dies while out of range of the magic jar, say both the jar and the lich body stay in the lair, what happens?

Also can a lich even cast magic jar as its soul is in its phylactery?


No, it can't.

Grand Lodge

1. lich dies as normal, phylactory will eventually bring back the lich if something doesn't happen to it during the process.

2. No.


LazarX wrote:

1. lich dies as normal, phylactory will eventually bring back the lich if something doesn't happen to it during the process.

2. No.

As to 2, is there anywhere in the rules to show this? Or is this just your interpretation?

Grand Lodge

Amrel wrote:
LazarX wrote:

1. lich dies as normal, phylactory will eventually bring back the lich if something doesn't happen to it during the process.

2. No.

As to 2, is there anywhere in the rules to show this? Or is this just your interpretation?

No... but I didn't think I'd have to dig up a rule where it shows that you can't cast magic spells while you are dead.

A lich that has it's body destroyed is dead. the phylactory stores its soul, but that does not make the lich in it's normal "living" or unliving condition. A lich is essentially treated as dead until the phylactory has restored it to it's lich form.


LazarX wrote:
Amrel wrote:
LazarX wrote:

1. lich dies as normal, phylactory will eventually bring back the lich if something doesn't happen to it during the process.

2. No.

As to 2, is there anywhere in the rules to show this? Or is this just your interpretation?

No... but I didn't think I'd have to dig up a rule where it shows that you can't cast magic spells while you are dead.

A lich that has it's body destroyed is dead. the phylactory stores its soul, but that does not make the lich in it's normal "living" or unliving condition. A lich is essentially treated as dead until the phylactory has restored it to it's lich form.

He/she is probably asking whether a lich can cast Magic Jar, ever, presumably when they DO have a body. That can be inferred from the first question.

The Exchange

I blame the vagueness of English. I read it as "can it cast magic jar even though its soul is in its phylactery" rather than "can it cast magic jar during an interval when its soul is in its phylactery," but I can see how the word as somehow manages to carry both connotations.

Grand Lodge

Lincoln Hills wrote:
I blame the vagueness of English. I read it as "can it cast magic jar even though its soul is in its phylactery" rather than "can it cast magic jar during an interval when its soul is in its phylactery," but I can see how the word as somehow manages to carry both connotations.

The lich's soul is in it's phylactory ONLY when the lich's body has been destroyed. So destroying a phylactory while the Lich is "unalive" has no effect save to royally piss him off.

A lich can cast the magic jar spell the same way a living spellcaster can.


LazarX wrote:
Lincoln Hills wrote:
I blame the vagueness of English. I read it as "can it cast magic jar even though its soul is in its phylactery" rather than "can it cast magic jar during an interval when its soul is in its phylactery," but I can see how the word as somehow manages to carry both connotations.
The lich's soul is in it's phylactory ONLY when the lich's body has been destroyed.

Source? I'm looking at a passage that suggests otherwise.

Lich, Undead Revisited wrote:

The final and most important aspect of a lich’s transformation involves creating a new home for its soul

called a phylactery—this is often something strong and impressive, such as a gem or box of unparalleled quality, though almost any object can serve.

New home implies fairly heavily that it remains in the phylactery at all time.


137ben wrote:


He/she is probably asking whether a lich can cast Magic Jar, ever, presumably when they DO have a body. That can be inferred from the first question.

This was my question. Is a lich ever capable of using the spell. And if he/she is, then what occurs when one of the conditions that would kill the caster is met?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Lich and the magic jar spell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.