Shambling mounds: Aiding it's own grapple? Two grapples?


Rules Questions


The shambling mound gets two slam attacks each round that have the grab quality. Once a creature is grappled, it still gets one, right? Assuming so, can it then slam it again, grab it again, and then aide it's own grapple? How does that work?
Or, assuming it still gets it's second slam, can it attack somebody else and grapple two people at once?


You can not aid yourself, and once you are grappled you can not be double grappled by the same creature.

If it took a -20 then it can grapple without gaining the grappled condition and attack someone else, but otherwise it can only attack whoever is already grappled.


So no tentacled creature can grapple more than one creature at a time?


Ellal wrote:
So no tentacled creature can grapple more than one creature at a time?

You misread what I wrote. :)

They can but they have to take a -20 to the CMB roll so they do not gain the grappled condition. If they don't do that then they only threaten the original target(grappled creature).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Shambling mounds: Aiding it's own grapple? Two grapples? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions