Spell Storing Weapons and Attacks


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Let's say you have a spell storing weapon and hit someone with it, and then decide to discharge the spell.

The spell is a touch attack spell. Does the touch attack from the discharged spell automatically hit, since the weapon is "currently" touching the enemy, or would you need to make a separate attack for the spell after the first one hit?


you can cast it as a free action, immediately. only the initial hit is needed to trigger the spell.

Dark Archive

That wasn't the question. The question is, does it automatically hit, not what kind of action does one need to cast it.


You make an attack with the weapon. If the weapon hits you can discharge the touch spell, if it misses then you do not.

"Anytime the weapon strikes a creature and the creature takes damage from it, the weapon can immediately cast the spell on that creature as a free action if the wielder desires."

There is no 'other' attack roll beyond the initial hit with the weapon to discharge a touch spell, else I'd be sure that caveat would be included in the description.


Sorry I thought I was clear in saying that. It was that since it was immediately when you hit them it automatically discharges onto them.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell Storing Weapons and Attacks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions