Undead Anatomy I - does it disguise you against undead


Rules Questions


Does Undead Anatomy I disguise you from undead? I mean, I'm surrounded by 4 wights and want to get this spell off. Will it immediately disguise me? Will the wights leave me alone? What about mindless undead?

Your friendly, going-to-die Transmuter,

jh


Undead Anatomy wrote:
In this form, you detect as an undead creature (such as with detect undead, but not with magic that reveals your true form, such as true seeing) and are treated as undead for the purposes of channeled energy, cure spells, and inflict spells, but not for other effects that specifically target or react differently to undead (such as searing light).

Depends on the situation and on the GM.

Nothing in the spell description says that you influence the attitude of undead, hide you or otherwise charm undead. Some GMs will say 'No' you only get the benefits from the spells description. Not more or less.

Others (including me) will read the bolded part and allow this spell as some kind of disquise against undead. Intelligent undead (especially if they see you casting the spell) are not so easy to bluff. Depending on the situation and the creatures skills (spellcaster?) they should ignore the spell and continue their attack.

Same for all other polymorph spells.


Eridan wrote:
Undead Anatomy wrote:
In this form, you detect as an undead creature (such as with detect undead, but not with magic that reveals your true form, such as true seeing) and are treated as undead for the purposes of channeled energy, cure spells, and inflict spells, but not for other effects that specifically target or react differently to undead (such as searing light).

Depends on the situation and on the GM.

Nothing in the spell description says that you influence the attitude of undead, hide you or otherwise charm undead. Some GMs will say 'No' you only get the benefits from the spells description. Not more or less.

Others (including me) will read the bolded part and allow this spell as some kind of disquise against undead. Intelligent undead (especially if they see you casting the spell) are not so easy to bluff. Depending on the situation and the creatures skills (spellcaster?) they should ignore the spell and continue their attack.

Same for all other polymorph spells.

I agree with this. In my game I'd give a disguise roll with a +10 to intelligent undead and unintelligent undead auto-fail. Though if you attack one of the undead it'll try to kill you back as appropriate.

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Wights are smart. If they see a human cast a spell, then turn suddenly into an undead, they will laugh and level-drain your face off.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Undead Anatomy I - does it disguise you against undead All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.