When can another player aid


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Maps, Rulebook, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

As the title says, when can another player aid a check? Do they have to be at the same location?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

They can do whatever their cards allow them to do. If the card (like Potion of Gracefulness) says it effects a character at your location, then they have to be at your location. If the card (like shortbow) says it effects a check at another location, they have to be at another locaiton. If it says neither (like Blessing of the Gods), than there is no limit as to the location.

Basically, if the card doesn't limit the situation, it works in any situation. If there is a condition on the situation specified on the card, then you have to be in that particular situation.


Many different cards and character powers can affect checks. Unless location is mentioned, it does not matter. If the text simply says "a check", it means any kind of check, made by anyone, at any location. If there are restrictions or requirements, the text will say so.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

The "a check" vs "your check" distinction is an important one, and a few cards have errata to say that they really meant "your check" (Swipe, Tome of Knowledge, Lizard). But the metalrules in the FAQ explain the general case pretty well. I'd definitely read through the Things to Keep in Mind (particularly Cards Do What They Say, Cards Don't Do What They Don't Say, and No One Else Can Take Your Turn For You).

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Maps, Rulebook, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Thanks all.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / When can another player aid All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion