Help me understand Witch's Abominate hex


Rules Questions


Polymorphing in pathfinder has confused me profoundly, and even moreso the Abominate hex which seems to mix together a bunch of different rules, so I need help to understand exactly what rules apply and how.

The Abominate hex says it works like baleful polymorph, except the target is transmuted into a small, medium, or large aberration. The target's abilities are modified as monstrous physique IV.

But I'm unsure, does this refer to abilities like darkvision, constrict and poison, or does it refer to ability scores like strength and dexterity, or does it refer to both?

Looking at monstrous physique IV, a "large monstrous humanoid" gains +4 size bonus to strength, -2 penalty to dexterity, and +4 natural armor bonus. Does these bonuses apply no matter what ability scores the aberration has, and does it apply no matter what original starting size the victim has? So if you start out large, and you get transformed to large, you get a plus +4 strength and minus -2 penalty to dexterity for that transformation? Furthermore, doesn't the target get any more constitution or hit points at all? These changes seem rather minor for somebody being transformed into a large monster.

Secondly, under Baleful Polymorph, I read that it works like Beast Shape III, but is this in addition to the effects listed under Monstrous Physique IV, or is this ignored in favor of Monstrous Physique IV?

I was hoping to use this in cool ways, enhancing my allies or my familiar to become large monsters, or using it against enemies to make them into small monsters, but based on what I can see the effect seems mainly visual rather than physical (but with the potential strong side-effect of stopping enemy wizards from casting spells due to not having limbs or a voice in monster form).


Abominate wrote:
The witch transforms a creature within 30 feet into an aberration. This hex acts as baleful polymorph, except the target is transmuted into a Small, Medium, or Large aberration. The target's abilities are modified as monstrous physique IV. Whether or not its save is successful, a creature cannot be the target of this hex again for 1 day.

Plus

Baleful Polymorph wrote:

As beast shape III, except that you change the subject into a Small or smaller animal of no more than 1 HD. If the new form would prove fatal to the creature, such as an aquatic creature not in water, the subject gets a +4 bonus on the save.

If the spell succeeds, the subject must also make a Will save. If this second save fails, the creature loses its extraordinary, supernatural, and spell-like abilities, loses its ability to cast spells (if it had the ability), and gains the alignment, special abilities, and Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores of its new form in place of its own. It still retains its class and level (or HD), as well as all benefits deriving therefrom (such as base attack bonus, base save bonuses, and hit points). It retains any class features (other than spellcasting) that aren't extraordinary, supernatural, or spell-like abilities.

Any polymorph effects on the target are automatically dispelled when a target fails to resist the effects of baleful polymorph, and as long as baleful polymorph remains in effect, the target cannot use other polymorph spells or effects to assume a new form. Incorporeal or gaseous creatures are immune to baleful polymorph, and a creature with the shapechanger subtype can revert to its natural form as a standard action.

Equals

Quote:

As monstrous physique IV, except that you change the subject into a Small, Medium or Large aberration. If the new form would prove fatal to the creature, such as an aquatic creature not in water, the subject gets a +4 bonus on the save.

If the spell succeeds, the subject must also make a Will save. If this second save fails, the creature loses its extraordinary, supernatural, and spell-like abilities, loses its ability to cast spells (if it had the ability), and gains the alignment, special abilities, and Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores of its new form in place of its own. It still retains its class and level (or HD), as well as all benefits deriving therefrom (such as base attack bonus, base save bonuses, and hit points). It retains any class features (other than spellcasting) that aren't extraordinary, supernatural, or spell-like abilities.

Any polymorph effects on the target are automatically dispelled when a target fails to resist the effects of baleful polymorph, and as long as baleful polymorph remains in effect, the target cannot use other polymorph spells or effects to assume a new form. Incorporeal or gaseous creatures are immune to baleful polymorph, and a creature with the shapechanger subtype can revert to its natural form as a standard action.

Just for completeness, here is Monstrous Physique IV

Spoiler:
If the form you assume has any of the following abilities, you gain the listed ability: burrow 60 feet, climb 90 feet, fly 120 feet (good maneuverability), swim 120 feet, blindsense 60 feet, darkvision 90 feet, low-light vision, scent, tremorsense 60 feet, blood frenzy, breath weapon, cold vigor, constrict, ferocity, freeze, grab, horrific appearance, jet, leap attack, mimicry, natural cunning, overwhelming, poison, pounce, rake, rend, roar, sound mimicry, speak with sharks, spikes, trample, trip, and web. If the creature has immunity or resistance to any energy types, you gain resistance 20 to those energy types. If the creature has vulnerability to an energy type, you gain that vulnerability. If the creature has immunity to poison, you gain a +8 bonus on saves against poison.

mall size: If the form you take is Small, you gain a +2 size bonus to your Dexterity and a +1 natural armor bonus.

Medium size: If the form you take is Medium, you gain a +2 size bonus to your Strength and a +2 natural armor bonus

Large size: If the form you take is Large, you gain a +4 size bonus to your Strength, a –2 penalty to your Dexterity, and a +4 natural armor bonus


So if I'm understanding this correctly, you neither get any of the ability scores, nor abilities of the aberration you transform into? (Unless they are specifically listed in Monstrous Physique IV)

But still, is there no difference what size the victim started as? If you turn a "colossal" creature into a "large" creature it still gets a +4 strength bonus?

For instance, somebody transformed into an Evil Eye wouldn't be able to do a gaze attack, and somebody transformed into a Vampiric Mist wouldn't be able to actually Blood Siphon?

I guess abominate would still be pretty useful since turning enemies into monsters that cannot actually use their monster abilities would make them rather impotent in combat (especially the vampiric mist, it cannot harm anybody!), but it's not exactly what I imagined.

Second edit: Now I see, it's if you fail the Will save test that you acquire the creature's special abilities. That makes more sense.


Drakim -- basically, when you use the hex, one of three things happen.

For the sake of this example, let's say you're turning an elven wizard apprentice (we'll call him Jimmy) with 10's across the board (but 18 int) into a rust monster.

#1: Jimmy makes the initial fort save.

No shape-changing. The least exciting outcome, but easiest to understand.

#2: Jimmy fails the initial fort save and also fails the Will save.

Jimmy's about to undergo some changes.

First up, his stats change. A Rust Monster is a Medium-sized aberration, so Jimmy (per Monstrous IV) gains a +2 size bonus to his strength, and +2 natural armour.

However, it's a baleful polymorph type effect. Failing the will save means that Jimmy's mind also goes, based on this:

Baleful:
If this second save fails, the creature loses its extraordinary, supernatural, and spell-like abilities, loses its ability to cast spells (if it had the ability), and gains the alignment, special abilities, and Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores of its new form in place of its own. It still retains its class and level (or HD), as well as all benefits deriving therefrom (such as base attack bonus, base save bonuses, and hit points). It retains any class features (other than spellcasting) that aren't extraordinary, supernatural, or spell-like abilities.

So, because of that, Jimmy's alignment shifts to Neutral, he loses his elven resistances, his spellcasting abilities, low-light vision, most of his class features (because they're Su or Sp) -- and most damaging, he gets the mental stats of the rust monster.

Jimmy's now a rust monster, with S: 12 D: 10 C: 10 I: 8 W: 13 C: 8

So, for Jimmy, he's stronger and wiser than he was. Compared to a normal rust monster, though, he's stronger, but slower (no 17 dex for him), and less well armoured (Nat +2 instead of +5).

On the plus side, though, he does gain the rust monster's special abilities: Scent Metal (Ex) and Rust (Su).

#3: Jimmy fails the initial fort save but *makes* the will save.

Jimmy's body changes, but he keeps his elven mind.

So, again, he's going to undergo changes, and again, Rust Monster is a Medium-sized aberration, so Jimmy (per Monstrous IV) gains a +2 size bonus to his strength, and +2 natural armour.

However, this time, Jimmy doesn't lose his mind and think he's a rust monster, so, instead, his final stats are:

Str: 12, D: 10, C: 10, Int: 18, Wis: 10, Cha: 10.

Jimmy loses the exceptional abilities that come from being an elf (bye-bye keen senses and elven immunities), but then gains any abilities that the new form has that are on this list:

Monstrous IV wrote:
burrow 60 feet, climb 90 feet, fly 120 feet (good maneuverability), swim 120 feet, blindsense 60 feet, darkvision 90 feet, low-light vision, scent, tremorsense 60 feet, blood frenzy, breath weapon, cold vigor, constrict, ferocity, freeze, grab, horrific appearance, jet, leap attack, mimicry, natural cunning, overwhelming, poison, pounce, rake, rend, roar, sound mimicry, speak with sharks, spikes, trample, trip, and web. If the creature has immunity or resistance to any energy types, you gain resistance 20 to those energy types. If the creature has vulnerability to an energy type, you gain that vulnerability. If the creature has immunity to poison, you gain a +8 bonus on saves against poison.

Sadly for Jimmy, metal scent and rust aren't there -- so not only will all the other rust monsters won't make fun of him for being too smart, but also because he can't rust..

Now, if you'd picked Drider instead, well, things would be different -- Jimmy's strength would be 14 (large aberration), his dex would be 8 (same reason), and his natural armour would be +4.... Plus, Jimmy would end up with a climb speed, the ability to web and a +8 bonus to saves vs. poison.... unfortunately for Jimmy, though, he'll never get the hang of using weapons smaller than his big spider body, because undersized weapons is not on the list from Physique 4.


Thanks, that was incredibly helpful.

So, it's actually not the physical transformation that's the big deal, it's the mental transformation (provided that you fail the Will save), since it would mean you get all the mental ability scores and supernatural abilities.

Obviously for an enemy you would want to transform him into some armless, legless, and voiceless slug with a weak bite attack, but for an ally you would want to find some monster that has great abilities and mental ability scores.


Normally, you tend to use non-baleful spells on allies so you don't risk them losing their minds -- accepting the slightly lower power level. But, yes.... usually....

Unless, of course, the thing you're turning the enemy into has an alignment that matches yours. :)

Dark Archive

Yes, Abominate as written is really lackluster as a an offensive hex and could definitely be re-written to be clearer but that's not the issue or point of the Hex. It's a polymorph effect that falls under the serious neutering that occurred during the transition from 3.5. With the re-write for Pathfinder to reduce the overwhelming power of the Druid builds there were a LOT of limitations put in to remove them which is where your confusion is coming from.
Now with that said the editors didn't look at all the repercussions of this particular hex and let a backdoor to returning that kind of polymorph power back into the game with this hex.

It's not a hex you throw onto your opponents, it's something you use on your allies/minions to give them several near permanent buffs before combat and granting PC's certain monster only abilities that they have worked very hard to restrict.

First lets address what abilities you are allowed to get from this Hex.

Allowed Abilities:
burrow, climb, fly (good maneuverability), swim, blindsense, darkvision, low-light vision, scent, tremorsense, blood frenzy, breath weapon, cold vigor, constrict, ferocity, freeze, grab, horrific appearance, jet, leap attack, mimicry, natural cunning, overwhelming, poison, pounce, rake, rend, roar, sound mimicry, speak with sharks, spikes, trample, trip, and web, Resistance 20 and a +8 bonus on saves against poison.

Small monstrous humanoid: If the form you take is that of a Small monstrous humanoid, you gain a +2 size bonus to your Dexterity and a +1 natural armor bonus.

Medium monstrous humanoid: If the form you take is that of a Medium monstrous humanoid, you gain a +2 size bonus to your Strength and a +2 natural armor bonus.

Large monstrous humanoid: If the form you take is that of a Large monstrous humanoid, you gain a +4 size bonus to your Strength, a –2 penalty to your Dexterity, and a +4 natural armor bonus.

Base speed changes to match that of the form you assume. If the form grants a swim or burrow speed, you maintain the ability to breathe if you are swimming or burrowing. The DC for any of these abilities equals your DC for the polymorph spell used to change you into that form.

In addition to these benefits, you gain any of the natural attacks of the base creature, including proficiency in those attacks. These attacks are based on your base attack bonus, modified by your Strength or Dexterity as appropriate, and use your Strength modifier for determining damage bonuses.

Finally, When you cast a polymorph spell that changes you into a creature of the animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin type, all of your gear melds into your body.


With the above info you see there are several issues that were missed when designing this power.
First, it grants access to several highly desirable abilities that have been heavily restricted from PC's being able to reliably get. (Pounce, Poison & Breath Weapons).
A. Pounce alone is one of the most desired melee abilities in the game but has usually been restricted to non-humanoid forms preventing weapon use but this hex bypasses that.
B. Poison has usually been avoided as a valid combat tactic due to cost, limited effects and potency but with this hex those poisons become free to use, opens up all kinds of special unique poison types and since the DC is based on the Hex's DC now it will be extrememly more potent.
C. Breath weapons are usually not an issue since they are usually of limited types but now they are far more options available with higher DC's and better effects.

After that since the target keeps it's own stats the extra's from the size change (a rare and underused type) stacks with and doesn't interfere with most of the usual buffs PC's have running) giving a not insignificant boost to damage and survivability.

Finally, since aberration is not on the list of forms that absorb gear all the bonuses and ability improvements from equipment that are usually denied to shapechangers stays in effect for abominated targets.

As long as the caster chooses the right form for his minions each time this power is used it can easily double or triple the combat prowess of it's recipients.


Assuming you're willing to risk your ally's mind, yes. Using it on minions does work, but it's important to remember that you don't give out racial HD either.

Yes, some of those powers are quite useful (breath weapon, pounce, etc) -- but there are some risks inherent in doing this to an ally --
like ending up with a 14th level barbarian drider who's able to rage, stil able to pick up his medium-sized weapons ... but suddenly CE and not your friend.

Also, I'll point out that you seem to have a misunderstanding of something:

Mathwei ap Niall wrote:
Finally, since aberration is not on the list of forms that absorb gear all the bonuses and ability improvements from equipment that are usually denied to shapechangers stays in effect for abominated targets.

Specifically, that the rules for shapechange *want* things to meld into your form because they keep working

Polymorph wrote:
When you cast a polymorph spell that changes you into a creature of the animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin type, all of your gear melds into your body. Items that provide constant bonuses and do not need to be activated continue to function while melded in this way (with the exception of armor and shield bonuses, which cease to function).

So if you cast shape of the dragon while wearing a belt of physical perfection, you're still amped up.

Whereas, when turned into an aberration, well, the new form may not be able to wear the belt/hat/whatever, because it doesn't have the right body parts anymore. (Though on the plus side, staying mostly humanoid would work since stuff otherwise changes size)


From what I understand, you can always elect to not take a save, such as the Will save to avoid the mental transformation of baleful polymorph.

But if you were to cast this on yourself with the intent to keep your own mental abilities, you would have to take that Will save, potentially failing it (and losing your means to dispel the effect, ouch!). Is there any way to reduce your own DC?


So wait, Great Old One Hastur is medium sized aberration, so he is a valid monster for Abominate?

Am I missing something here? Obviously a GM could houserule that it's not valid, but is it supposed to be valid by default?


As I recall, you can't use polymorph spells to assume the form of a unique creature (in the same way you can't become a creature with templates).

Polymorph wrote:
Unless otherwise noted, polymorph spells cannot be used to change into specific individuals. Although many of the fine details can be controlled, your appearance is always that of a generic member of that creature's type. Polymorph spells cannot be used to assume the form of a creature with a template or an advanced version of a creature.

Bolded emphasis mine. Sadly, there's no "generic" Great Old One you can assume the form of, so that's pretty much out.

Then again, I'd hate to accidentally create a new massive evil anyway.

(Of course, the fact that you don't gain the Hit Dice, natural armour or physical bonuses does make that a little less impressive..)


That makes sense, but what about a non-unique spellcaster like Veiled Master? Would you get all of his magical abilities?


Mathwei ap Niall all round vision should be on the list too since it is in MP III (not sure why isn't not on the list for MP IV)

Drakim Not if you make your will save since spell like abilities aren't on the list for Monstrous Physique
If you fail your will save, then it looks like yes (you get special abilities) but then you aren't you anymore.


I don't have the stats for that, I think it's a 3PP?

However, to use a less insanely powerful example -- if you turn poor Jimmy into a Moon Beast and he fails his Will save, then...

Jimmy's got Str 14, Dex 8, Con 10, Int 19, Wis 18, Cha 25. His alignment becomes CE.

He gets a bunch of new spell-like abilities (including constant Air Walk and detect thoughts at will). His tentacles will drain wisdom.

Lacking the big hit die, all of the DCs for his power that are built off racial HD would be pretty low.... and 14 str and +0 BAB (from Wiz 1) means the wis drain wouldn't be that much of a threat because he's horrible with those tentacles. He'd have an AC of 12 (-1 dex, -1 size, +4 natural), and 6 hit points.

The one question I have is what the caster level of his new form would be -- but I imagine it would be level 11 (as per the normal moon beast), considering he gets all spellcasting abilities.

Of course, he's not really Jimmy anymore, and is likely to try to enslave and kill the people he was working with.


Tilnar wrote:

I don't have the stats for that, I think it's a 3PP?

He linked to it.

Its Paizo, a subspecies of aboleth


Samasboy1 wrote:
Tilnar wrote:

I don't have the stats for that, I think it's a 3PP?

He linked to it.

Its Paizo, a subspecies of aboleth

Can't get to d20pfsrd from here -- however, I see it now that I look under "Aboleth". ;)

Dark Archive

Tilnar wrote:

Assuming you're willing to risk your ally's mind, yes. Using it on minions does work, but it's important to remember that you don't give out racial HD either.

Yes, some of those powers are quite useful (breath weapon, pounce, etc) -- but there are some risks inherent in doing this to an ally --
like ending up with a 14th level barbarian drider who's able to rage, stil able to pick up his medium-sized weapons ... but suddenly CE and not your friend.

Also, I'll point out that you seem to have a misunderstanding of something:

Mathwei ap Niall wrote:
Finally, since aberration is not on the list of forms that absorb gear all the bonuses and ability improvements from equipment that are usually denied to shapechangers stays in effect for abominated targets.

Specifically, that the rules for shapechange *want* things to meld into your form because they keep working

Polymorph wrote:
When you cast a polymorph spell that changes you into a creature of the animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin type, all of your gear melds into your body. Items that provide constant bonuses and do not need to be activated continue to function while melded in this way (with the exception of armor and shield bonuses, which cease to function).

So if you cast shape of the dragon while wearing a belt of physical perfection, you're still amped up.

Whereas, when turned into an aberration, well, the new form may not be able to wear the belt/hat/whatever, because it doesn't have the right body parts anymore. (Though on the plus side, staying mostly humanoid would work since stuff otherwise changes size)

Well first there is no risk to this. If you are pre-buffing your barbarian ally with this power then you aren't rushed so you can easily boost his saves enough that he can auto any DC you have on your hex. If you're trying to do this in combat you'll be asked why you are trying to do this in combat? On the rare times when something does go wrong then you simply hit your allow with a remove curse and try again the next day. You lost a single spell slot (you auto-succeed removing your own effects) for trying this so not a big deal, especially if done during your downtime.

On the other hand sometimes that's exactly what you DO want to happen. There are some party classes that benefit from this change for more then are penalized. Not all aberrations in the game are evil, some are even flagged as lawful good and many of them are well above average intelligence.

As for your second point YOU seem to have a misunderstanding on those rules, here let me quote the relevant part for you.

Quote:
Items that provide constant bonuses and do not need to be activated continue to function while melded in this way (with the exception of armor and shield bonuses, which cease to function)./b]

Losing the armor and/or shield bonus is a significant change for your melee meatshield but losing all the gear that needs to be activated (All wands, potions, scrolls, rods, Half the rings in the game, all staves, most magic weapons and ALL the armor & shields) is a massive decrease in power before you start looking at all the wondrous magic items out there that require activation that most melee types live for.

About the only consistent thing that keeps working is your passive stat boost items and the occasional situational item some characters carry.


Why do you "lose yourself" if you fail the save? Reading Baleful Polymorph I can't really see anything that says you will stop being yourself, just that:

Baleful Polymorph wrote:
If this second save fails, the creature loses its extraordinary, supernatural, and spell-like abilities, loses its ability to cast spells (if it had the ability), and gains the alignment, special abilities, and Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores of its new form in place of its own.

I mean, sure, you gain a new alignment, but your character might already be evil, and it's still the same player soul inside the body. Does getting a new Intelligence score count as becoming a new person?


Actually, I'm not -- I'm quite aware of losing the armour bonus from things that aren't bracers -- you'll see how I called out the belt of physical perfection as something that works.

However, just because the armour doesn't merge into your form (and, yes, re-sizes, I know), I don't think you're still able to wear the full plate when you're turned into a drider or mimic. It's one thing to say stuff changes size, it's another to say that it completely re-aligns and still fits and functions -- and the rules don't say that.

Further, if you're worried about activating gear (like wands and rods), it's simple: drop 'em before being polymorphed. Stuff you pick up afterwards doesn't immediately meld with you, and so you can be a dire ape with a massive greatclub.


Drakim wrote:
I mean, sure, you gain a new alignment, but your character might already be evil, and it's still the same player soul inside the body. Does getting a new Intelligence score count as becoming a new person?

No, but getting all three mental stats *and* a new alignment and powers, (which will include any hungers, urges, etc.) -- it's a pretty big clue that Jimmy isn't here anymore.

Even if the soul is Jimmy's, the fact is that the mind has changed -- he's smarter, craftier, wiser, and... alien.. because he now thinks like an aberration.

Compare that to, for instance, reincarnate, where you get a whole new body but *keep* all three mental stats.


Drakim wrote:

Why do you "lose yourself" if you fail the save? Reading Baleful Polymorph I can't really see anything that says you will stop being yourself, just that:

Baleful Polymorph wrote:
If this second save fails, the creature loses its extraordinary, supernatural, and spell-like abilities, loses its ability to cast spells (if it had the ability), and gains the alignment, special abilities, and Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores of its new form in place of its own.
I mean, sure, you gain a new alignment, but your character might already be evil, and it's still the same player soul inside the body. Does getting a new Intelligence score count as becoming a new person?

The point of the failed will save is that its a save against actually becoming a rabbit. A guy who makes the will and fails the fort is just a rabbit in body.

I think the point of abominate is for a witch to turn her minions into horrible creatures and foes into worthless ones. Not really great to use on your friends without houserules. Like most of the witch's hexes its less mechanical and more narrative. Of course by the time you get the hex the game has probably blown up in some way anyway. Grand hexes don't show up until after 9th level spells hit the table after all.


Besides which, I suspect the gear non-merging is a bug -- until this hex there was no way to make someone into an aberration.

(Plus, Monstrous Physique lets you go Monstrous Humanoid which [correctly] doesn't absorb gear -- so this really isn't any spiffier than that)

Dark Archive

Tilnar wrote:

Actually, I'm not -- I'm quite aware of losing the armour bonus from things that aren't bracers -- you'll see how I called out the belt of physical perfection as something that works.

However, just because the armour doesn't merge into your form (and, yes, re-sizes, I know), I don't think you're still able to wear the full plate when you're turned into a drider or mimic. It's one thing to say stuff changes size, it's another to say that it completely re-aligns and still fits and functions -- and the rules don't say that.

Further, if you're worried about activating gear (like wands and rods), it's simple: drop 'em before being polymorphed. Stuff you pick up afterwards doesn't immediately meld with you, and so you can be a dire ape with a massive greatclub.

Nope, you lose them from bracers too.

Read it again, it doesn't say armor stops working it says armor and shield bonuses stop working. The bracers turn off too as does anything that grants an armor bonus.

Second, magic clothing and jewelry auto-resize to fit the character when they change size while armor grows/shrinks when the character does (probably) based on the enlarge person spell which is the first and most basic transmutation spell out there.

Third, so you want your players to take off ALL their magical equipment before getting hit by a polymorph spell and then putting it back on? Have you looked at how long that takes? Every fight will be done before they finish getting it all off let alone putting it back on.

Finally, and this is for everyone, none of this actually matters. This power doesn't work for every example given here. I skipped over the most limiting part of the power which makes all of this moot. The spell works like Baleful Polymorph with the exception of letting you choose small, medium or large aberrations. It does NOT remove the restriction built into Baleful Polymorph.

Quote:
of no more than 1 HD

I think there are maybe 3 aberrations in the game with 1HD or less and of those the only one that is size small or better is the Flumph.

The power needs a re-write or it's technically useless as written.


Out of curiousity, armour, shield and weapon notwithstanding, just how many items do you have that need activation? (Especially when this hex is permanent and so the whole "be late for the fight" thing isn't really that much of an issue?)

[But, yes, my bad, bracers fail. Doesn't really change my position.]

I do agree though, that it's badly written and I don't think someone was thinking it all the way through -- for example, I really can't predict whether they expected gear to meld, because until right now, you could never be an Aberration [Shapechange may be the most nerfed spell since 3.5] -- and with Aberrations, it's a very mixed bag as to whether or not gear makes sense -- for every near-humanoid Ettercap, there's a totally non-humanoid cloaker or mimic or where, as I said, merely re-sizing the armour wouldn't get you very far...

Which, unfortuantely, is something far more likely to happen in a small book in the Companion line (where they'll not factor it all in to the greater rules).

However, considering they gave you physique IV and not something weaker, I have to imagine the intent is to bypass the 1 HD restriction... (Even if the rules don't say so).


Somone suggested above that you can 'opt out' of the will save. This is incorrect. You can choose to fail the save, but you cant opt out of it.

From the evil mastermind villain witch this is a neat hex.. the reasons to use it on enemies mid combat is the bad guy or his minions stop working co-operatively.

You turn the bad guys henchmen standng next to him into an Aboleth and that minion wont be following orders any more.

For a BBEG this is probly a real means to create a bad guy army or curse people or any number of narrative things.

I assume its a greater hex?


It is, indeed, a greater hex.


Abominate wrote:
Effect: The witch transforms a creature within 30 feet into an aberration. This hex acts as baleful polymorph, except the target is transmuted into a Small, Medium, or Large aberration.
Baleful Polymorph wrote:
As beast shape III, except that you change the subject into a Small or smaller animal of no more than 1 HD.

One could argue that in Baleful Polymorph you can "change the subject into a small or smaller animal of no more than 1HD", while in Abominate you can "change the target into a small, medium or large aberration".

But I think you are correct, the RAW reading says that it can be no more than 1HD, which is pretty boring. I liked the idea of my witch turning people into monsters.


Mathwei ap Niall wrote:
It does NOT remove the restriction built into Baleful Polymorph.
Quote:
of no more than 1 HD
I think there are maybe 3 aberrations in the game...

"Of no more than 1 HD" is only a limitation/specification on what animal forms are valid.

Changing the power to aberration forms doesn't automatically inherit the limitation on animal forms. It uses its own limitation, based solely on size.

MrSin wrote:
I think the point of abominate is for a witch to turn her minions into horrible creatures

Since you keep class levels even if you fail the save, but gain special abilities, how about turning your Sorcerer buddy into a Naga (where their class levels should stack with nagas' innate sorcerer casting)?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Help me understand Witch's Abominate hex All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions