Eldritch Knight Requirements Question


Rules Questions

The Exchange

Bizarre question #3.8 billion;

If I get a Ring of Revelations (Skill at Arms) and use UMD to activate the ring, would my 6th level arcane caster qualify for the Eldritch Knight (EK) prestige class?

While the ring is activated my character would be proficient in all martial weapons (which is the needed requirement for EK), but even with the 10,000 GP cost of a Ring of Revelations this feels a little out there. Obviously, any bonus feats that require weapon proficiency would only function when the ring is activated, but spell casting abilities likely would not be affected by not having the ring's powers activated.

It seems like there's some interesting role playing ops in this idea, but would it actually work?

Note: this is a thought exercise more than anything. I already have my path to Eldritch Knight worked out, but stumbled over this item last night and it made me go, "Hrmmmmmm?"


Hmmm.. I don't think this works by RAW. There is no official errata or FAQ on it yet, but James Jacobs has said that it cannot be used with UMD.

If I were the GM I'd smack you like Leeroy Jetthro Gibbs does it and just say "No!"

The Exchange

You'd definitely have to do something like impose an Oracle's Curse on the PC while the ring was active.


Yeah, UMD lets you mimick the Class Feature, but it doesn't let you count as the class, thereby it doesn't work by RAW.

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32

Even if it works it sounds risky to me - anytime the ring is inactive you lose all your Eldritch Knight class abilities, including advanced spellcasting.


IF the ring can be made to function with UMD, which I believe it can't, then yes, you could use it to qualify.

The Exchange

A lot of interesting, "OMG NO" reactions, but nothing actually useful.

UMD lets you emulate having a class feature. If mimicking class features will let you use the powers stored in a rod, a staff, or any wondrous item that is tied to a class then mimicking having the Mystery class feature would let you use items tied to that feature (and the abilities within); in this case a Ring of Revelations. That's a no-brainer. If you can explain within the mechanics of the rules why this does not work great. Otherwise you’re just having the “OMG NO” reaction. Not helpful at all. And if you were crazy enough to take this path having a UMD of 20 by the time you hit sixth level is actually pretty easy for a sorcerer so activating the ring would be easy.

As for losing a class feature that qualified you for training; it only costs you those abilities if losing that feature directly takes those abilities away. A Paladin slaughtering the innocent loses all spell and spell like abilities given by the gods because the paladin needs the gods to give him those abilities. Losing feats, skills, or abilities that qualify you to learn something new does not necessarily strip you of learned abilities unless those abilities actually require that initial skill. You just wouldn't be able to take additional levels in EK without activating the ring (So don't lose it: cause at 30,000 GP it ain't cheap); but you shouldn’t lose your spell casting abilities. You just miss out on all the cool class features of being an actual sorcerer/wizard. And honestly, it might be a good punishment for the player to let him live with what he has now.

So really, the question is; does an Oracle's Mystery count as a class feature that can be emulated with a DC 20 UMD, and is that enough to activate the Revelation stored in the ring? Because if it can and it is, then the character in question should qualify as originally proposed. Not saying it is a smart way to go about becoming an Eldritch Knight; I just think that it is actually possible.

Also of note: let’s not forget that 30,000 gold is the bulk of an eighth level character’s wealth. For a PC to manage to scrape together the cash to even try this should take him past the initial point he would want to become an eldritch knight in the first place. And scraping up that much money before eighth level means that he probably does not have any other cool toys; so it really isn’t worth trying. As I said in the original post, this is a thought exercise and not a realistic way to become a bad-ass character. In fact, you’re going to be a rather weak character with only 3,000 GP for other magic items; and the DM will be itching to steal your ring.

The Exchange

If anybody doubts the ability to have a UMD of 20 by 6th level;

Skill Points: +6
Class Skill Bonus: +3
Charisma Bonus: +5
Trait, Dangerously Curious: +1
Feat, Magical Aptitude: +2
Feat, Skill Focus: +3

That's 20. And really, you only need a 19 so you don't need the Trait bonus. Realistically, if you focus on a single skill having a 20 in that skill by 6th level is easy.

Back onto the original topic; the more I look at this the more I think, yes it can be done. But it would be a really dumb way to go about doing it.

Dark Archive

Not a FAQ so unofficial, but as noted above by Lifat, JJ thinks it won't work, reasoning as follows for whatever it's worth.

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2l7ns&page=331?Ask-James-Jacobs-ALL-your-Qu estions-Here#16532

James Jacobs wrote:

Use Magic Device will let you trick an item into thinking you're a different class... but it does not grant the POWERS of that class. The way the ring of revelation is worded pretty much means you HAVE to be an Oracle (aka you have to meet minimum level requirements in class abilities granted by the oracle class, since the powers granted directly affect that ability rather than grant you NEW abilities). Furthermore, the ring specifically says that it has no effect if worn by a non-oracle.

SO. Best case scenario, you could Use Magic Device to trick the ring into activating, but if you don't actually have class levels in oracle, the ring will do nothing more than take up a ring slot for you.


I'd look at the wording itself, which says that user "has access" to the Revelation. Your character is not actually proficient in All Martial Weapons, as required by the Eldritch Knight Class, and is just emulating it using an item. Generally I don't think you can use stat or skill bonuses or SLAs from items to qualify for prestige classes, just inherent SLAs and bonuses.


Corvino wrote:
I'd look at the wording itself, which says that user "has access" to the Revelation. Your character is not actually proficient in All Martial Weapons, as required by the Eldritch Knight Class, and is just emulating it using an item. Generally I don't think you can use stat or skill bonuses or SLAs from items to qualify for prestige classes, just inherent SLAs and bonuses.

That has always been my understanding as well.


For you to be able to use a magic item as a prerequisite, the item must be active for twenty four hours. If you use the magic item to qualify, then any time the item is not active, you would lose all of the special abilities of the prestige class as you would no longer meet the prerequisites of the prestige class.


Durngrun Stonebreaker wrote:
For you to be able to use a magic item as a prerequisite, the item must be active for twenty four hours. If you use the magic item to qualify, then any time the item is not active, you would lose all of the special abilities of the prestige class as you would no longer meet the prerequisites of the prestige class.

The PRD rules on permanent ability bonuses say "Permanent Bonuses: Ability bonuses with a duration greater than 1 day actually increase the relevant ability score after 24 hours. Modify all skills and statistics related to that ability. This might cause you to gain skill points, hit points, and other bonuses. These bonuses should be noted separately in case they are removed."

It does not mention qualifying one for Prestige Classes or even feats. It just says that it changes all skill points and statistics whereas temporary drain or bonuses only affect certain specific things related to that ability. A feat or Prestige Class is neither a skill nor a statistic (like HP, Init, Saving Throws, etc...) so I would think such a bonus would not count toward qualification.

The Exchange

There we go. Actual rules based answers. Thanks. That closes that off nicely.

The Exchange

Okay, different but related question;

Could an Oracle use UMD to access a power in a Ring of Revelations that is not a part of her own Mystery?

I think this one is a little more likely, but it is still a tricky one. You would be using UMD to convince the ring you have the appropriate Mystery as a class feature, so if you have the appropriate class levels as an Oracle could you then use that Revelation on a successful UMD?


Yes, emulating a class feature you don't have is perfectly within the abilities of UMD. That said you still could not use it to qualify for feats or Prestige classes for the reasons stated above.

The Exchange

Sounds about right to me. Thanks OSRPG.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Eldritch Knight Requirements Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.