Mounted Overrun: Is it the PC or the mount who takes the overrun feats?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

This sort of confusion is why I'm not a fan of mounted combat, but it seems I'm building a cavalier, and not one of those small-sized "I fit through 5 ft. corridors cavaliers.

With a large-sized mount in mind, I've decided to go for the simple trio of Improved Overrun, Charge Through, and Trample. However, when making a mounted overrun, is it me or my horse (or both of us) who needs the feat(s) for them to take effect?

I notice Improved Overrun is available as an animal companion feat, so presumably the horse needs it to not provoke an AoO when overrunning (though, is that for when he overruns without his rider riding him? Does he use the rider's Improved Overrun while the rider is mounted on him?), while the Trample feat specifically specifies "When you make a charge while mounted", which would imply that Trample, at least, is for the PC, even if the mount is the one doing the trampling.

This is a headache. Could anyone more familiar without mounted combat rules tell me which of these feats I need to stick on the cavalier, and which ones I need to stick on his horse?


Also, come to think of it: Would Greater Overrun let either the cavalier or their horse (or both?) provoke AoOs on a trampled opponent? I know at least one of them is probably using all their actions on the charge itself (probably the cavalier), but I'm not sure.


Its not clear. I've always had th assumption that th rules assume th pcdoes th checks. When th rules were written only 3 classes had an ac. That said feats for mounted combat are inconsistant Minkai their wording.


Mojorat is right on this one. The rules for mounted combat are terribly written. Almost to the point of not working. Especially with the current FAQs on it.

If you want my opinion I'd have a talk with your GM on this one and see about hammering out the details because you aren't going to get a clear answer here.


By RAW, Overrun is part of a move or charge action. The mount uses its action to move, not the rider's. The rules are strange enough that you really just need to get on the same page your DM to decide how it works at your table.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mounted Overrun: Is it the PC or the mount who takes the overrun feats? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions