
![]() |
ok, in 2 scenarios I've played, I've gained access to an intelligent magic item.
Is it possible to upgrade an item from its base type to the intelligent version (assuming you follow normal upgrade rules)?
Specifically, the item is a mithral weapon and I want to get it as an arcane bond. If I purchase the appropriate mithral weapon type, then do the bonding ritual, can I then pay 1/2 the cost to upgrade it to the intelligent version on the Chronicle sheet?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
That is covered by the FAQ:
Quote:
Magic armor and weapons may be upgraded to named versions if they are the same basic material and shape as, and meet but do not exceed the enhancement bonuses of the named versions
As long as the character in question has the chronicle to gain access to the item, I believe it would be legal to upgrade his existing item into that one.