The Black Tower: "acquire a spell" vs "draw from the box"


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


The Black Tower scenario says: "After you acquire a spell, bury a card from your hand." If a character gets to "draw a spell from the box" (from defeating Hand Chopper, for example), do they have to bury a card from their hand?

I ruled that the character did not have to bury a card in this case, because the words "draw from the box" don't include the technical term "acquire", but wanted to check if my reading of the rules was correct. [Is it correct to say that "acquire" specifically means "when a boon is encountered and the 'acquire' check is successful"?]


It is only acquire if you are acquiring. So a check to acquire is acquiring, but drawing from the box is not.

See Mike's comment here.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / The Black Tower: "acquire a spell" vs "draw from the box" All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion