Quarterstaff enhancement


Rules Questions


I was thinking of building a Staff Magus for a game, but I'm not sure if I want to get a staff or just enhance a quarterstaff. I remember reading something that if you enhance a double weapon, you need to enhance both sides. However, looking for that rule again, I can't seem to find it. Is this true, or am I making this up?

RPG Superstar 2009 Top 8

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Pretty sure that is true. Like 99.99% sure.

That being said. There is no obligation to go down the TWF road just because you are using a weapon that CAN be used as a double weapon.

Consider the fact that, as a staff magus, you will be using your quarterstaff as a one-handed weapon so as to benefit from spell combat.

You can't use the quarterstaff as a double weapon when wielding it with one hand via the Quarterstaff Master feat.

So why bother enchant both ends? Just enchant one and go to town with that.

On the other hand, you may want to be a TWF staff magus who just switches from round to round between extra attacks and spell combat.

In that case, use things like magic weapon, greater magic weapon, or even your Arcane Pool to give temporary boosts. Maybe you spend the gold to enchant one end and then boost the other when you need it. Maybe you boost both ends while saving to enchant them at the same time later.

I hope this helps - I know it is unsolicited advice - that is why I wrote it after the actual answer to your question


Creating Magic Weapons wrote:
Creating magic double-headed weapons is treated as creating two weapons when determining cost, time, XP, and special abilities.


Thanks for the advice, Mistah J. I'll think about that strategy.

Eridan wrote:
Creating Magic Weapons wrote:
Creating magic double-headed weapons is treated as creating two weapons when determining cost, time, XP, and special abilities.

Eridan, I may have stated my intent wrong. I wanted to enhance one end of a quarterstaff, but not the other. I recalled a rule saying I couldn't do this, but now I cannot find it.

Also, it looks like this is from 3.5 crafting rules, since PF no longer uses XP in crafting.

RPG Superstar 2009 Top 8

oh!

I misread!!

no.. you don't have to enchant both ends. You can certainly power-up just one end of a double weapon.

THAT is what I am so sure about. That they need to be enchanted separately


Alright, just wanted a second opinion on this before I submitted any builds. I could've sworn I remembered that rule from something, but I just don't recall what.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Quarterstaff enhancement All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions