Mythic Ability Legendary Item


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

When a character takes this ability, does it create an item out of thin air for the character or is it an upgrade for an existing item, in that it has to be applied to an item the character already owns?

The first sentence of the ability states "You gain a Legendary Item" but then there's "Paralleling the trajectory of a mythic character, a legendary item begins as a normal magic item that ascends to something greater" in the beginning description of Legendary Items.

How have y'all been dealing with it?


If you're starting the game with this, then i would say you need to buy the item. If you acquire the LI in game then i would think you would already have the item in you possession (if you make the item legendary yourself). The book does mention that legendary items become legendary because they are tied to legendary people. The other way is to get an item in game that is already legendary (using the same ability). That item is legendary because someone else made it so. Then it could be anything you didn't possess (you probably didn't have it before, but you could and not have realized it). Does this help at all?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mythic Ability Legendary Item All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions