how many "hands slots" does a Kasatha have?


Rules Questions


thread name says it all.

under the "Slotted Wonderous Items" rules it states the following:

SRD wrote:
If a creature has multiple body parts that correspond to a single wondrous item slot, it can still only gain the benefit of one item of that slot.

as we all know, this is refering to having 2 hands and 2 feet and not being able to wear 1 boot or 1 glove of a set and 1 of another, and gain both benifits, or wearing 8 rings.

the problem is that this rule has historically been used to explain the above. it doesn't consider having 4 hands. You have 1 "ring slot" per hand, and 1 "hands slot" per pair of hands. so what happens when you have 4 arms? do you now have 4 "ring" slots and 2 "hands" slots?


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

No. As you quote, having multiple body parts (hands) does not give you more slots.


it im not asking if it gives more slots. im asking if you can wear more than 1 set at a time.

just because you dont have another "slot" for the purpose of using the item, it does make mention of being able to wear more then one of that type.

Dark Archive

Only one slot, but can wear two pairs of gloves. Wearing two sets of magic gloves cancels out the magic of both, so you would not gain any benefits of either.


lets take rings as an example: if im wearing 3 magic rings (because the rules DO say i can do this): a ring of sustenance, a ring of spell storing, and a ring of protection. normally i want to gain the benifit of sustenance and protection. but then i want to use spell storing.

what happens when i do this? do i have to take an action to swap two of my rings onto two different finger? or so i just stop gaining the effect of one while i use the other, then change back as soon as im done?


Chris Ballard wrote:
Only one slot, but can wear two pairs of gloves. Wearing two sets of magic gloves cancels out the magic of both, so you would not gain any benefits of either.

that is not at all what the rules say. NOWHERE does it say they cancel each other out...


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

I'll have to find the reference, but I believe once the "slot" is filled up, wearing additional items has no further effect.

EDIT: See this thread, it may or may not have your answer.


SlimGauge wrote:

I'll have to find the reference, but I believe once the "slot" is filled up, wearing additional items has no further effect.

EDIT: See this thread, it may or may not have your answer.

i know wearing more has no effect. but does that stop you from actually wearing more? if neither of them is a continual effect which one can be activated? can you just choose? take the glove of storing for example, if im wearing two (one for each pair of hands) can i only store and retrieve from one? what if both are empty? which one gets activated when i want to store somethng?


Actually. In order to use more than two rings like that you need a specific item. It's called the Meridian Belt.


all that belt does is add two new "ring slots" to the character and restrict how many can be active at a time.

judging by that items text and the rules cited in the other thread that SlimGauge linked, it seems to me that the game does not allow a character to wear more than one of anything....you cant put a necklace on if you are wearing an amulet, even if you have no intent on using the necklace ever. you have no choice but to put it in a back. it simply cant go around your neck until after you remove the amulet.


Basically yeah.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

If I recall, you can wear more than two rings, but only the first one you put on a hand is active. To switch you must remove the rings and replace them. Only the first one you put on functions. This may be a v3.5 that I'm remembering so use caution.


ok, so for having 4 arms. i can wear 2 sets of gloves, but the first set i put on is the "active" set in the slot. the second set is just leather over my skin. it takes a move action to remove the first set, at which point the second set (now being the only set i have equipped) becomes active. i can then put the first set back on (another move action), but these are now useless because they were not the "first set equipped".

this seems fair and reasonable, although as i pointed out above, RAW it is not possible to wear two of any item that takes a slot, so technically speaking, you cannot wear a monks robe AND an adventurers outfit, thus meaning you are walking around pantless...


And before someone says "an outfit isn't a slotted item" let me ask this : what if I made a masterwork outfit and enchanted it? Is it a slotless magical item? Or does it go in a slot? Which slot?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / how many "hands slots" does a Kasatha have? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.