Spell Sunder +Greater Sunder = full damage to target?


Rules Questions


So I am trying to put together a Sunder Barbarian build and I am looking for clarification. How do Spell Sunder and Greater Sunder interact?
Spell Sunder: Once per rage, the barbarian can attempt to sunder an ongoing spell effect by succeeding at a combat maneuver check. For any effect other than one on a creature, the barbarian must make her combat maneuver check against a CMD of 15 plus the effect’s caster level. To sunder an effect on a creature, the barbarian must succeed at a normal sunder combat maneuver against the creature’s CMD + 5, ignoring any miss chance caused by a spell or spell-like ability. If successful, the barbarian suppresses the effect for 1 round, or 2 rounds if she exceeded the CMD by 5 to 9. If she exceeds the CMD by 10 or more, the effect is dispelled.

+
Greater Sunder : You receive a +2 bonus on checks made to sunder an item. This bonus stacks with the bonus granted by Improved Sunder. Whenever you sunder to destroy a weapon, shield, or suit of armor, any excess damage is applied to the item's wielder.

Does this mean that when you dispel an effect completely you then apply damage to the target?


Sirlink wrote:


Greater Sunder : You receive a +2 bonus on checks made to sunder an item. This bonus stacks with the bonus granted by Improved Sunder. Whenever you sunder to destroy a weapon, shield, or suit of armor, any excess damage is applied to the item's wielder.

Unless the ongoing spell effect is a weapon, shield, or suit of armor nothing happens. There are some conjured magical weapons and mage armor could be agued to be armor.

Grand Lodge

Since Spell Sunder doesn't do damage, just suppresses the magical effect for a short time, there is no excess damage for Greater Sunder to apply.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell Sunder +Greater Sunder = full damage to target? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions