2 Claws Damage


Rules Questions


Started questioning myself last night as I (perhaps) over read the stat block. Was using the Gargoyle out of the beginner box books and it states:

2 claws +7 (1d6+2)

My take on that has been to do two attack rolls, one for each claw with each claw that hits doing 1d6+2 damage (so 2d6+4 if they both hit). Is that correct? My confusion has become is it one attack with 2 claws for 1d6+2 dmg - or is each claw its own attack with their own 1d6+2 dmg?

Thanks.


Each claw is its own attack, dealing damage separately. Roll 1d20 +7 for the first claw, if it hits, roll 1d6+2 damage. Then repeat for the second claw.

Basically your first idea was correct. But keep in mind if both claws hit, they still deal their damage separately, which is important to notice against targets with damage reduction.


What Threeshades said, plus keep in mind that if the gargoyle moves more than 5 feet, it's limited to only 1 attack, so only 1 claw (or one of its other attacks), as a standard action. It can only attack with both claws as part of a full round attack.


Excellent, it didn't seem to make much sense the other way (as then 2 claws would do less damage than 1 bite for example), but when I hit a player with both claws, bite, and gore (I think this was the fight) and he dropped dead I thought I might be overdoing it.

Thanks again


actually, it might have been the barghest that did the crazy attack, don't remember, so many fights yesterday, lol. But at least now I know I carried it out correctly.

Silver Crusade

I hate barghests. Particularly ones named Malfeshnikor.


We haven't met Malfeshnikor yet, but we will be soon. hehehe

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / 2 Claws Damage All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions