Gunslinger, reload, and 5 foot step


Rules Questions


This came up in a game last night and I was curious as to what the actual rule was for it. If a gunslinger has the ammunition that allows them to reload as a move action (paper cartridges iirc), are they allowed to do the following in a single turn:

  • 5 foot step away from an enemy
  • reload gun
  • shoot at enemy

Any actual references to rules would be greatly appreciated on this!

Liberty's Edge

Yes. you may take a 5 foot step as long as you have not moved during the turn. Reloading is a move action, not a move.

You will find this in the book under 'Taking a 5 foot step'.

Grand Lodge

Ummm... yes.

Standard rules apply.

5' step is a no action, you can even do it in the middle of a full attack action.

reload gun, per your specifications would be a move equivalent action, since he is not moving while reloading, it just takes up the same time as a move action. Which is what allows him to still be able to take a 5' step.

shoot at enemy, as ever, would be a standard action, as all non-full round attacks are.

For the reload, Rapid Reload, the feat, could also apply. ANd, with the proper feats, cartridges, and deeds, make reloading a free action.


We weren't exactly sure what the standard rules were, hence the discussion and me asking :)

Thanks for the feedback though, this is extremely helpful!

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

ingenuus wrote:

5 foot step away from an enemy

reload gun

Move action isn't Move for any distance.

So You can take a 5 ft when you don't move.

So yes you can do this.

Sczarni

Similarly, an unarmed archer may 5 foot step away from an adjacent enemy, use his move action to equip his bow, and use his standard action to shoot one arrow.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Gunslinger, reload, and 5 foot step All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.