If I charge while mounted, does my mount get an attack too?


Rules Questions


I will be having a mount with pounce and am in talks with the GM over whether or not the mount get to use their attack when they charge.

Anyone have any insight or can point me towards the right rules?

Sczarni

I believe it's the mount that's actually charging, or in this case pouncing.

You're just along for the ride, and you gain the bonuses/penalties associated with charging.

I thought it used to be in the FAQ, but in trying to find a link for you now I couldn't locate it.


"If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge. When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge)."

Right from the rulebook. Your mount charges and takes the attack. Then if you use your standard action to attack, you get the charge bonus. You still have your move action to spend.

Be careful with reach weapons. If you are attacking with a lance you have to declare a readied action to attack the moment you get in range (unless you use your lance as an improvised weapon -- smirk). Then it wouldn't be clear if you get the charge bonus as your readied attack has to happen before the mount has completed their charge. Most people house-rule everything to do with mounted combat. This is one of the reasons why mounted combat in Pathfinder is a complete mess.

Silver Crusade

Nobody knows what the rules are wrt mounted combat. They're confusing and contradictory.

With that in mind, pragmatically speaking, you might not want to push TOO hard. A pouncing mount AND a lancing rider is arguably overpowered. And the GM might push back :-). But don't expect much help from the rules. Just discuss it with your GM and come up with a solution that works for you.

Liberty's Edge

Magpied wrote:

I will be having a mount with pounce and am in talks with the GM over whether or not the mount get to use their attack when they charge.

Anyone have any insight or can point me towards the right rules?

They do. In fact, they're the one charging, not you, so you could even Full Attack.

However, if using a lance specifically, there's a reach issue (it has a 10 ft reach, so unless your mount does too you can't both attack), and you only get double damage on the first attack no matter how many you make.

You're good to go with a non-reach weapon, though.

Sczarni

Deadmanwalking wrote:
In fact, they're the one charging, not you, so you could even Full Attack.

Only if the rider also possesses the Mounted Skirmisher feat.

Liberty's Edge

Nefreet wrote:
Deadmanwalking wrote:
In fact, they're the one charging, not you, so you could even Full Attack.
Only if the rider also possesses the Mounted Skirmisher feat.

You're right. My bad.

Grand Lodge

Deadmanwalking wrote:
Nefreet wrote:
Deadmanwalking wrote:
In fact, they're the one charging, not you, so you could even Full Attack.
Only if the rider also possesses the Mounted Skirmisher feat.
You're right. My bad.

Note the restriction though. If the mount moves more than it's speed. (like on a charge), the feat's effect is nullified.

Grand Lodge

LazarX wrote:
Deadmanwalking wrote:
Nefreet wrote:
Deadmanwalking wrote:
In fact, they're the one charging, not you, so you could even Full Attack.
Only if the rider also possesses the Mounted Skirmisher feat.
You're right. My bad.
Note the restriction though. If the mount moves more than it's speed. (like on a charge), the feat's effect is nullified.

Given most mounts' speeds, and that a charge only has to be 10' minimum, you can still easily get in charges that are between 10' and whatever your mount's normal single-move speed is.


Deadmanwalking wrote:
Magpied wrote:

I will be having a mount with pounce and am in talks with the GM over whether or not the mount get to use their attack when they charge.

Anyone have any insight or can point me towards the right rules?

They do. In fact, they're the one charging, not you, so you could even Full Attack.

However, if using a lance specifically, there's a reach issue (it has a 10 ft reach, so unless your mount does too you can't both attack), and you only get double damage on the first attack no matter how many you make.

You're good to go with a non-reach weapon, though.

You can do it if the rider has Ride By Attack.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / If I charge while mounted, does my mount get an attack too? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions