what constitutes "wielding" a weapon?


Rules Questions

151 to 152 of 152 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | next > last >>

At work and about to start so I dot have time to read all this but I know there's also a weapon property that grants a bonus to inititive when the weapon us wielded which by this ruling would mean I act on initiative x till I actually attack then from that point on act on initiative x+2 which seems odd.

Silver Crusade

This is the worst logic I've ever heard:-

• the improvised weapons rule states, 'Sometimes objects not crafted to be weapons nonetheless see use in combat. Because such objects are not designed for this use...'

• this rule doesn't say that it doesn't apply to objects which are designed to be weapons

• therefore the rule does apply to weapons!

Let's try this very same logic to the rest of the rules:-

• the Rage special ability states, 'A barbarian can call upon inner reserves of strength and ferocity, granting her additional combat prowess. Starting at 1st level, a barbarian can rage for a number of rounds per day...'

• this rule doesn't say that it doesn't apply to creatures who aren't barbarians

• therefore creatures that aren't barbarians can Rage!

Common sense really. Everyone can get angry.

Let's try again:-

• the rules for wizards include, 'A wizard casts arcane spells drawn from the sorcerer/wizard spell list presented in Spell Lists.'

• neither the rules for wizards nor the rules for barbarians say that barbarians can't cast spells

• therefore barbarians can cast spells!

You know that this logic is false, yet you proudly boast of it and wave it around like you just won the Internet.

The truth is that the rules for combat tell you what weapons do, and the lack of a rule to say that they can't use rules meant for non-weapons does not mean that they can. Just like the lack of a rule saying that wizards can't Rage doesn't mean that therefore they can Rage. Just like the lack of a rule saying barbarians can't cast spells doesn't mean that therefore they can.

Just like the polearm master's lack of a rule saying that non-polearm masters can't attack adjacent opponents doesn't mean that they can.

151 to 152 of 152 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / what constitutes "wielding" a weapon? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions