Planar travel and the Status spell


Rules Questions


The Status spell mentions that "if a subject (of the spell) leaves the plane, or if it dies, the spell ceases to function for it."

Consider this situation:

Party cleric casts Status on the rest of the party. Later on (before the spell expires), most of the party uses the Shadow Walk spell to travel to a nearby location (about a mile or two away). One PC (a bard) is left behind.

When the cleric returns to the PMP, can he use the previously cast Status spell to determine the location and condition of the bard?

In effect I am asking if ceasing to be on the same plane as the caster results in a suppression or an ending of the spell. The RAW says "ceases to function", but what does that mean?

Grand Lodge

Up to your GM really. I would say that duration continues to tick, but if there is still some remaining by the time the party returns to the Prime Material, the spell should still work.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Ceased, not suppressed. Sounds pretty clear to me.


I think the specific indication is that it has ended, as RD says, ceased not surpressed.

Though, I would probably be nice and let you use once you returned to the material plane for whatever duration it still had.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Planar travel and the Status spell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions