DR and Magus Arcane Pool


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

What effect does my 2nd level Magus' +1 enhancement from his Arcane Pool have on overcoming DR? I read through this earlier thread, but it left more questions unanswered than answered for me. The last PFS adventure I played in, the GM ruled that my PC's arcane pool bonus had no effect on overcoming DR on a monster that had DR 5/Cold, but I'm wondering if that was correct?


Magical enhancements to a weapon don't overcome DR/Cold, but overcome specific types of DR depending on the amount of enhancement. A +1 weapon will overcome DR/Magic; a +3 weapon will overcome DR/Cold Iron, Silver; a +4 will overcome DR/Adamantine; +5 will over DR/Alignment*.

In order to overcome DR/Cold you'd need a weapon or effect that specifically deals cold damage. At 5th level a Magus could put the Frost enhancement on his weapon, but even that won't overcome DR/Cold for the weapon damage - the extra d6 of cold damage would overcome the DR though.

*Each level also overcomes the DR of any lower weapon, of course - so a +5 weapon overcomes DR/Magic, DR/Cold Iron, DR/Silver, DR/Adamantine, and DR/Alignment.

Scarab Sages

thanks for the reply. I fugured there was a hierarchy to it. So would my Magus' +1 enhancement from their arcane pool allow them to overcome DR 5/Magic.


Yep. The number preceding the slash determines the amount of damage negated from an attack that cannot bypass the DR type (proceeding the slash); as long as you match the DR type though, you bypass it completely. So a character could hypothetically have DR 9001/magic, and it won't do anything against damage from a +1 dagger.

Note that DR also only applies to 'physical' damage - primarily weapon damage. Spells, SLAs, supernatural effects, and energy damage (magical or mundane) generally will bypass DR. So the creature you mention, with DR 5/cold would still take full damage from, say, a Fireball.


if your magus was a bladebound magus, at level 5you could use an arcane point to make your weapon damage do elemental damage of your choice...but thats a black blade only thing...


Related question, since I'm playing a bladebound magus, would spending an arcane point to turn my +2 scimitar into a "+3" scimitar allow me to overcome Dr/Cold Iron?


Faskill wrote:
Related question, since I'm playing a bladebound magus, would spending an arcane point to turn my +2 scimitar into a "+3" scimitar allow me to overcome Dr/Cold Iron?

That is how we play it.


Haha that's how I'm playing it too but I was wondering if it was actually legal ;)

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32

Greater magic weapon specifically excludes its enhancement bonus from penetrating DR; there is a lack of similar language in Arcane Pool. This implies that raising your weapon to +3 or higher does indeed penetrate DR per the normal way.

Shadow Lodge

There is a line in the Arcane Pool description that states:

"...These bonuses can be added to the weapon, stacking with existing weapon enhancement to a maximum of +5..."

So if you had a +2 weapon and activated your +1 from your arcane pool then it stacks with the +2 essentially making it a +3 weapon...which would indeed bypass silver and cold iron DR.

Grand Lodge

ryric wrote:
Greater magic weapon specifically excludes its enhancement bonus from penetrating DR; there is a lack of similar language in Arcane Pool. This implies that raising your weapon to +3 or higher does indeed penetrate DR per the normal way.

Arcane Pool also has a much shorter duration than the spell.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / DR and Magus Arcane Pool All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.