Some question about Alchemists and Marionette Possession


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

First of all, Marionette Possession says it's components are: "Components V, S, F (a piece of paper with the target's name)" and also that it's on Alchemist Formulae List.

But the alchemist's Alchemy description says "Extracts cannot be made from spells that have focus requirements (alchemist extracts that duplicate divine spells never have a divine focus requirement)."

Does this mean that the Alchemist could learn the formulae, but it would be impossible to prepare, and so only serves to facilitate wand use? If a wand of Marionette Possession is crafted, would it be restricted to only being able to target the creature whose name was written on the focus for the Wand's creation? If not, then does the focus have to apply to one individual, or if you write down a common racial name (e.g. 'Axebeard Beardaxe' for dwarves) could it apply to any individual with that name?


It's even worse than that. Extracts also can ONLY affect the Alchemist, with the exception of alchemists who have the "infusion" discovery (and then the effect is as if the drinker was the alchemist) - so even if an alchemist COULD prepare it, he couldn't use it, because it couldn't affect anyone but HIM.

whoever added this spell to the Alchemist spell list didn't do their homework at all.

In addition, the mini-description says "As Magic Jar, but limited to line of sight" - but it is clearly NOT like Magic Jar, because the target is "one WILLING creature" and not "one creature" - and a Saving throw is listed and says "See text" but there is no mention of saving throws in the text. The entire spell is unworkable and of questionable utility.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Some question about Alchemists and Marionette Possession All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions